Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Tesla Switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

j taylor

Hi to all
as a complete novice in the world of electronics I'm hoping someone in this group can help me to build a tesla 4-battery switch i have been reading quite a lot about it but sadly cant find enough info to build a solid state version with confidence any help will be gratefully received many thanks
john

From what I understand, this is a sort of perpetual motion device for batteries. Perpetual motion, or getting more energy out then you put in (without resorting to nuclear devices), has been pursued for centuries with a notable lack of success (first for mechanical devices, then electrical, and usually by those who have no real knowledge of science). So far, no one has been able to repeal the law of Conservation of Energy but, good luck.

The type of circuit you need depends upon how fast you need to switch the batteries and how much voltage and current you need to switch.

Here's a site that might help you get started. Use Google.com and search for 'Tesla Coil Builders', you should get plenty of others.

RMCybernetics - DIY Homemade Tesla Coil

I like this one, because it has some nice driver circuits for ignition coils. Haven't built or bought from this site, but looks good.