Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Synching Quartz Master clock to DCF77/MSF

Status
Not open for further replies.

oliverb

I have a quartz controlled master clock system that has been up and runnimg now for many years see https://www.electro-tech-online.com...lock-with-7-seg-led-displays-hourly-ch.18901/ .

The clock runs fine but the secs need re-synching every few months as they start drifting. I run the clock just a bit fast so after 3 months I just hold the seconds synch button to stop the clock until it is in sync with "atomic time".

What I want to build is a circuit to keep the seconds in synch from the DCF77 signal. I have chosen the DCF77 as the reciever modules is a bit cheaper £15 rather than £25.

My initial thoughts are as follows.
Adjust my master to run just a little slow.
The DCF77 signal has 58 1 sec pulses followed by a 2sec gap.
Count the 58 pulses and when the 2 sec gap is detected sync the seconds on my master.

Looking at Hans Summers site he uses RC networks to seperate the pulses.
From my very rough diagram enclosed
I could then have 1 sec pulse stepping IC1. When 58 pulses have been received IC2 goes high. IC3 remains low until the 2 sec (> 1sec) pulse after pulse 58 is detected.

IC3 going high resets my seconds display (stepping the mins display) and also resets the quartz 1 sec count IC.

IC1 will also need to be reset (maybe with a slight delay) ready for the first of the 1 sec pulses.