Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Switching 24VDC relays from microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

KnutH

Hi!

I hope this is the right forum for this question, I am new here!

First a short introduction: I am a computer programmer looking forward to playing with home automation, but don't have too much understanding of the details of the hardware part. But we have a totally new house, where I already have made some basic decisions for the home automation. But now I am a little stuck about how to really put the "Smart" into "Smart home".

Here is what I have:

- (low voltage) wires from all switches, PIR sensors etc to a central in the basement
- all lights, ovens etc. are switched on/off by relays
- The relays are toggling pulse relays requiring a 24VDC pulse, one to switch on, another to switch off. Please do not suggest changing these for another type, that is not an option since they are already paid for and installed! And they work fine when I connect a toggling light switch to give 24VDC directly to the correct relay (which is how the lighting system works so far, as in an ordinary house).
- thermo actuators for the water based floor heating, also requiring 24V to be on, 0V is off.