1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

SpamBot Question

Discussion in 'Members Lounge' started by Mikebits, Mar 10, 2016.

  1. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,214
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    Am I just an idiot, and I am really embarrassed for having to post this? I was attempting to register for a forum and came to the SpamBot question which was as follows:

    Pick the all units for power: mA, A, mW, Volt, KG, m, W, inch, psi.:

    Well, at first I said sure, mW and W for milli-watt and watt
    So I type mW,W
    this was wrong???
    So then I just tried W
    wrong again???
    befuzzled at this point I tried typing the word Watt

    Wrong again, and I also exceeded the number of attempts allowed by this clever little SpamBot catcher. So I was now left locked out as I was informed I would have to try again later... Grrr, surely I was not a bot, and I know what the units for power are. Have you seen this question, before I get locked out again, I wanted you guys input.

    Thanks all
     
  2. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.
    If you don't mind, which Forum? Maybe one of us can give it a go and see if we get the same response. Then post the results here.

    kv
     
  3. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,214
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    JYEtech.com, my son purchased one of their scope kits (DSO138) through Ebay, which turned out to be a counterfeit, I just wanted to post this info on the forum, and who the seller was.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Les Jones

    Les Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes:
    187
    Location:
    Lancashire UK

    Could it be that person that set the question did not know what he was talking about and was wanting all the electrical units not just power ?
    I think killivolt's suggestion is a good one but I expect them to use a different quesion next time.

    Les.
     
  6. Les Jones

    Les Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes:
    187
    Location:
    Lancashire UK
    Hi Mike,
    I am on the registration page and the same question is being asked. what answer would you like me to try ? (As you have already given the correct one.)
    I have tried the correct answer (Separated with a comma.) and all the electrical units with just a space character between them. Neither worked.

    Les.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2016
  7. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,022
    Likes:
    317
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    ONLINE
    What is m?

    Mike.
     
  8. Les Jones

    Les Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes:
    187
    Location:
    Lancashire UK
    Hi Pommie,
    I assume "m" is for metres.
    Les.
     
  9. MikeMl

    MikeMl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,049
    Likes:
    541
    Location:
    AZ 86334
    In my world, m stands for milli, as in 10^-3
     
  10. Peter Newman

    Peter Newman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    Hello. I have exactly the same problem as the op Mikebits. I was asked exactly the same question on the same forum and gave the same answers. I also got looked out after giving the same answers for the same reasons The forum is here http://www.jyetech.com/forum/ucp.php?mode=register Does anyone have any suggestions as this is the most ridiculous anti bot measure I have yet to see Thank you
     
  11. spec

    spec Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes:
    709
    Location:
    Somerset UK GMT
    Hy Mike,

    No 'idiot': the question is ambiguous.:arghh:

    'W' for Watts and 'mW' for milliWatts are the only units of power, so 'W' and 'mW' are all you should enter. Or have I got it wrong?
    (m= meter as Les says; milli is not a unit: it is a prefix)

    spec
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2016
  12. Peter Newman

    Peter Newman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    Not quite sure who you are replying to spec but I am Peter :) Mike is the original poster (op) Thanks for that and I just figured that out and registered for that forum by using mW (milliwatt) and W (watt) by using your rational. Thanks a lot for the reply
     
  13. spec

    spec Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes:
    709
    Location:
    Somerset UK GMT
    Hy Peter,

    Welcome to ETO,

    Care to tell us where you are and show it in your user window at the left of your posts.

    I was replying to Mike; I wonder why you ask.

    Our posts crossed and I had included mW too.

    Glad to hear that you managed to log in OK.

    spec

    (PS I asked admin to delete your two erroneous posts. If you need to delete a post in future, just click 'Report' and ask admin to delete the offending post)

    PSS: What is the motorbike?
     
  14. Peter Newman

    Peter Newman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    Thanks a lot spec isn't if funny how out of the blue a topic get some simultaneous activity after being idle for months :)

    I only really came across this forum because of my issue in registering on the JYE Tech forum in anticipation of assembling a cheap low end oscilloscope. Now I will explore this forum too.

    The motorbike is a 1972 750cc Norton Commando Roadster that I sold in 2011 unfortunately

    I live in Canberra, the capital of Australia but I cannot see how to include this on my profile. It's always a battle working out a new forum, but I have found but they are great places
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2016
  15. spec

    spec Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes:
    709
    Location:
    Somerset UK GMT
    Ah, I had missed the date. I hate it when that happens. I now understand your question.

    Norton Commando- nice. In 1963, I wanted a Norton 650SS, but all I could afford was a Matchless G2, 250 cc single.

    There are quite a few of your countrymen on ETO.

    If you enter your location next to 'Location' in your user page, it will show in the window at the left of your posts. It is handy for us to know your location because then we can determine what your mains supply is and what components you have access to.

    spec
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2016
  16. Peter Newman

    Peter Newman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    Thanks spec you are very helpful which I appreciate Actually since I arrived here I decided to stay :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2016
  17. spec

    spec Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes:
    709
    Location:
    Somerset UK GMT
    Hy Peter,

    There are loads of helpful people on ETO and there are experts in many fields.

    I hate to say this, but there are strict rules about hijacking a post so it would be better to start a new thread. That way you will get the most responses.

    spec
     
  18. Peter Newman

    Peter Newman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    Thanks I edited my reply
     
  19. JoeJester

    JoeJester Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    699
    Likes:
    105
    Location:
    Grand Prairie, TX
    In my world m stands for meter and milli. mV/m.
     
  20. ronsimpson

    ronsimpson Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,254
    Likes:
    961
    Location:
    Loveland, CO USA
    "m" is also the sound I make when trying to guess which choice to make. "mA, A, mW, Volt, KG, m, W, inch, psi"
    'mmmmmmmmmmmmmm'
     
  21. Tony Stewart

    Tony Stewart Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,151
    Likes:
    281
    Location:
    Richmond Hill , ON Canada near Toronto
    I just created a dummy user name and dummy email and guessed the correct answer syntax on the 3rd try

    mW W

    no comma

    dumb site. no drama.

    Hey welcome to the group Peter.

    You may locate and edit your "Personal Details" by pointing at your name in upper right corner.

    I have PC security experience and understand the weakness of programmers from personal experience. (mine)
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2016
  22. JoeJester

    JoeJester Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    699
    Likes:
    105
    Location:
    Grand Prairie, TX
    So it was a poorly constructed question and answer ...
    It would have been a whole lot easier if they formatted the question properly so the user could select the two correct answers.
     

Share This Page