Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Some help with mic preamp to vu meter

Status
Not open for further replies.

st1f1

hello, this is my first time posting here, and i have a problem.. i would like to build a tree-like vu meter for a gift. i made one with lm3915. the problem is that when i plug in my mic preamplifier, almost all 10 led turn on and stay that way.. can someone help me please, this is my first time doing something like this? max output from preamp is 500mV with 47 kOhm resistance, and i think that vu works, when i plug it into output for my computer speakers it works perfectly...

You forgot to post the schematic of your LM3915 circuit and preamp for me to see if it has an input resistor to ground and an input coupling capacitor.

The LM3915 is a DC voltmeter so if your preamp feeds DC to it then it shows it.

Schematic for preamp: **broken link removed** (page 12), i am sorry i can't find an english version, and this is the lm3915 circuit: Circuits-Lab.com » Blog Archive » VU meter circuit using LM3915. i also made an lm386 amp for the preamp, vu didn't work properly, so i thought there was something wrong with the preamp, so i made one with another lm386...but it seems there is too much noise.. i was also wondering if i could use this schematic http://www.instructables.com/files/orig/FX5/67GS/FLROK12R/FX567GSFLROK12R.gif but use lm3915 instead of lm3916? thank you

need some resistor