Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

solar pannel calculation

Status
Not open for further replies.

georgetwo

Hi,
I am new to solar pannel application on inverters, and I am about to use it in a 3.5kVA inverter.
I have no idear of the calculations involved in getting the suitable watt of solar pannels.
I need enough power to charge a 12V 200AH battery together with supply.
One more thing, do I need a PWM before feeding the Inverter?

Where did you get 3.5kVA?

How long do you want to it to take to charge the batteries? What is the other load while the batteries are being charged?

I already have a 3.5kv, 220V inverter. and I want to charge the battery for 9 hours. the load during charging is about 200wat 220V.

Hi Georgetwo,
With a 12 volt 3.5KW inverter at the maximum the current from the 12 volt battery/batteries will be around 300 amps. In order to supply this sort of current long term will require a battery bank with a min 1600AH with a heap of batteries in parallel. As far as the pv to charge nothing under 3KW will be enough. I would suggest you have a backup generator to kick in when your single battery goes under 12 volts which will be every time the inverter is used.