1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Solar Panel

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by premkumar9, Nov 24, 2008.

  1. premkumar9

    premkumar9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    India
    The Charge Controller I use work in that principle.
     
  2. premkumar9

    premkumar9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    India
    My intention of using a regulated power is to limit the current. How is it possible to limit current with out regulating the supply voltage?
     
  3. blueroomelectronics

    blueroomelectronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12,536
    Likes:
    168
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    For LEDs... Just a resistor to limit the current.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. premkumar9

    premkumar9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    India

    Do you mean that after connecting a series resistor, we can apply any voltage?
     
  6. blueroomelectronics

    blueroomelectronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12,536
    Likes:
    168
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  7. premkumar9

    premkumar9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    India
    In that calculator
    1. first you put 5V , Vf 2V and If 20 mA find R
    2. Then give 200V,Vf 2V and use the same resistance value (because in my circuit resistance is fixed)
    Tell what will happen to the LED.
     
  8. blueroomelectronics

    blueroomelectronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12,536
    Likes:
    168
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    ??? Do your LED traffic lights require 220V or 12V?
     
  9. premkumar9

    premkumar9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    India
    So you understood that the statement "after connecting a resistor we can apply any voltage " is wrong. So variation of the supply voltage from 11 to 15V will cause a current variation. That is not acceptable to me due to some reasons. I wanted to know a method to regulate my voltage. Of course a DC-DC converter may solve. But expected to hear an expert opinion in the forum. I know there are people in this forum who give good suggestions.
     
  10. blueroomelectronics

    blueroomelectronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12,536
    Likes:
    168
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    It was a good suggestion. You could also wire up an LM317 as a current regulator instead of the resistor in series with the LED. For what reason is it not acceptable to you? Does your traffic light only have LEDs in it? are there other circuits? Relays? ICs?
     
  11. premkumar9

    premkumar9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    India
    It is by dropping the excess voltage and thus dissipating power. Is it not?
     
  12. blueroomelectronics

    blueroomelectronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12,536
    Likes:
    168
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    OK are your traffic lights 220V or 12V?
     
  13. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,445
    Likes:
    937
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    A current regulator changes the voltage to maintain a certain current.

    If the load is a high resistance then the output voltage of a current regulator goes high.
    If the load resistance is low then the output voltage of a current regulator goes low.
    If the output is shorted then the output voltage of a current regulator is zero but the regulated amount of current stays the same.
     
  14. premkumar9

    premkumar9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    India
    For this particular project it is 12V DC.
     
  15. premkumar9

    premkumar9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    India
    I want the DC supply to be 11 to 12V DC. variation up to 15V is not acceptable. At the same time I want to avoid series dropping and power waste. Was trying to get a cheaper solution than a DC-DC converter.(the word "cheap" may give audioguru an opportunity for some more postings.)
     
  16. Ubergeek63

    Ubergeek63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,886
    Likes:
    37
    HV9910 will run on 8-500V, though the inductor selection is not so forgiving.

    Dan
     
  17. premkumar9

    premkumar9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    India
    Curiosity

    How did you choose the name "audioguru"? Guru is an Indian word. just because of my curiosity?
     
  18. premkumar9

    premkumar9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    India
    Thank you :) That gave me an idea. The same principle may be possible for my circuit were the FET is switched by Microcontroller.
     
  19. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,445
    Likes:
    937
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    A salesman at work called me an Audioguru. I didn't know that a Guru was from India and I didn't know anybody from India.

    Cheap? You mean cheep like the sound from a baby bird?
    All electronic parts are inexpensive in Canada. Cheap parts come from China and India.
     
  20. premkumar9

    premkumar9 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    India
    I am sure that he is not an Indian. A person who knew the meaning would not have called you by that name. Probably he might have considerd it as an abusive word.:D:D:D:D

    What is the difference between 'inexpensive' and 'cheap'?
     
  21. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,445
    Likes:
    937
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    Inexpensive is good quality and a low price.
    Cheap is low quality and a low price.
     

Share This Page