Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

SM-200 monitor scope

Status
Not open for further replies.

chris54

Hello and thanks for the time to read and reply.

I have into possession of a amature radio scope (I am a ham operator) SM-220 and the problem I am having is with the DC balance circuit and trying to figure it out the service manual is not very helpfull. I am going to attach if I can a copy of the service manual. So if anyone and help thanks

Attachments

• SM-220 Service Manual.pdf
    1.5 MB · Views: 394
What is the "problem" with the DC balance control?

The purpose of this control is to maintain the trace in the same location as the gain is changed, when there is no input. The most vulnerable component here is Q102 but you wouldn't be able to calibrate the gain if Q102 were bad. Poor DC offset control would also be caused by Q103 with lesser impact on gain. Note that Q102 and 103 are supposed to be sort of matched. Since they handle the input RF directly, they can't be just any JFET, either.

That is the problem the trace will not stay centered whan the V gain is rotated. so I guess I can try to get a matched pair of jfets. What do you think.

I would change C109 and C111 first. IT's alot easier to get two caps than two matched FET's. Sometimes they read good on capacitance but they are leaky, especially when they get old. If you have new FET's then change the FET's too. Sometimes it is more rewarding to fix things than use them when they do work.