1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Size (temperature) of a Thermal fuse for a shop vac motor

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Bill Kinley, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. RD Gibb

    RD Gibb New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0
  2. RD Gibb

    RD Gibb New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0
    I posted a link to Thermtrol the manufacturer but it doesn't seem to be up yet.
    The device I found in my eureka vacuum appears to be a SX8AM Series thermal protection device which is shown on the Thermtrol website. I does state that you have to remove power in order for the fuse to reset, so besides cooling down I will have to unplug my shop-vac.
     
  3. KMoffett

    KMoffett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,496
    Likes:
    58
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Yes, I'm aware of resettable over-temperature protection devices, but they are not "thermal fuses". They wouldn't fit into the location of a thermal fuse.

    Ken
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. RD Gibb

    RD Gibb New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0

    I had to remove the yellow block that held the original thermal fuse entirely from my shop-vac. I will disassemble my shop-vac and get a couple of pictures to show you how it all fit together.
     
  6. KMoffett

    KMoffett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,496
    Likes:
    58
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    The thermal fuse is for a PIZZAZZZ pizza baker, not a shop vac. ;) But thanks. ;)

    Ken
     
  7. RD Gibb

    RD Gibb New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0
    Sorry, this tread was started with a question about a shop-vac.:eek:
     
  8. islandmerv

    islandmerv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    ShopVac fuse problems

    I work for a large hardware store and do repairs on the Shop Vacs that are returned when they quit working. In 95% of the caseas the thermal fuse has
    opened and an ammeter reading ( oscilloscope monitored for peak inrush) plus an analog meter, show no motor defect . Requests to shopvac for additional
    replacemenmt fuses go unanswered.

    Basic product is OK. Service is NOT.

    Recommend do not buy.

    I install a fuse holder and put in an appropriate slo-blow fuse reacheable from the outside of the case. Non UL acceptable but in over 75 cases the customer was pleased.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2009
  9. Sceadwian

    Sceadwian Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,047
    Likes:
    141
    Location:
    Rochester, US
    Too bad they couldn't have splurged for a resettable fuse of the appropriate rating... It's sad to see a good name like this have problems like that over a trivial preventable issue.
     
  10. nellie b

    nellie b New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    the thermal fuse in most shop vac, are a one shot device . Rigid vac's use a
    THERMODISC G4A01121C Fuse, Thermal Cutoff, MICROTEMP G4 Series, 10 A, 250 V, 121 °C, Ferrule, 106 °C
     
  11. schmitt trigger

    schmitt trigger Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Likes:
    84
    Coffee makers also have these thermal fuses.
    If you coffee maker suddenly stops working, it will be 99.9% of the time a blown fuse.

    A coffe maker is a device I would NEVER bypass the thermal fuse. The heating element inside can become pretty hot without cooling water.
     

Share This Page