Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simultaneous equations with 3 variables

Status
Not open for further replies.

Overclocked

We are beginning Mesh analysis in Electric Circuits 1 (Im a graduate from high school with a major in Electronics Engineering, this is college), I remember how to use Simultaneous equations with 2 variables, but I cant seem to remember how to use it with 3 variables.

I have found this page: https://www.themathpage.com/alg/simultaneous-equations-3.htm

But Things dont always go the way as they show it. So do you multiply by the "other number" and add (With 2 variables thats What I do, for example:

3x+5y=2
6x+10y=4

To get rid of x you would multiply the top by 6 and the bottom by -3, and add. Can this be used to get rid of a third variable?)

Any of the three equations can be replaced by a linear combination of those equations and the solution set remains the same.

What you are trying for is to have one equation with a single nonzero coefficient, one equation with two nonzero coefficients, and one equation with three nonzero coefficients. This is called a triangular form. For example
Code:
3x + 5y + 6z = 13
     4y + 2z = 7
          9z = 18

for which the unique solution is { -11/12, 3/4, 2}

yeah..from one equation, find an expression for say for example x..then substitute for x so tht u get 2 equations in z and y..and then solve as for a usual 2 variable simultaneous equation..