1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

simulation of maximum power point circuit

Discussion in 'Mathematics and Physics' started by PG1995, Mar 27, 2014.

  1. PG1995

    PG1995 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes:
    13
    Hi

    I intend to build the simulation for maximum power point based on the one shown in this video. I have tried to contact the uploader of the video but it seems he is no longer logs into his UTube account. Before continuing with the simulation I need to clarify few details. Kindly help me with these queries. Thank you.

    Regards
    PG
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Jony130

    Jony130 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes:
    28
    Q1 - It looks like this circuit indeed represent a solar panel.
    Q2 - Voltage monitor and amplifier.
    Q3 - Current monitor. But I don't see where R17 is connect. Because I don't see any "currente modulo".
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. PG1995

    PG1995 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes:
    13
    Thank you.

    Please have a look on boost converter on the top right. You will find "corrente modulo" next to resistor R12.

    Do you think we should work on this circuit for simulation? If you have some better idea then kindly let me know. Thank you.

    By the way, I'm trying to arrange the circuit components in ISIS and hopefully will be done tomorrow. But we will need someone's help for the code.

    Regards
    PG
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2014
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. PG1995

    PG1995 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes:
    13

    Hi

    I have roughly tried to arrange the components. Please have a look here and kindly make some changes if you like.

    Please also have a look on these queries? Thank you.

    Regards
    PG
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Jony130

    Jony130 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes:
    28
    Hi, In this computer I don't have proteus installed, but tomorrow I will try to install it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. Jony130

    Jony130 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes:
    28
    Hi,

    Q1 - you need to change Template. File ---> New Design --->Landscape US A

    Q2 - simply zoom in and you will see that you in the grid, or simply change it , press F2 or F3 or F4.

    I attach simulation file in rar.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  8. PG1995

    PG1995 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes:
    13
    Thanks a lot, Jony.

    Soon, I will made few additions to the simulation and will let you know then.

    Regards
    PG
     
  9. PG1995

    PG1995 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes:
    13
    Hi

    I don't see how this circuit can represent a solar cell. Could you please help me with it? You could also watch this video.

    How do you represent a rechargeable battery Proteus? I don't think that Proteus has any library model for a rechargeable battery.

    Thank you.

    Regards
    PG
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Jony130

    Jony130 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes:
    28
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. PG1995

    PG1995 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes:
    13
    Thanks a lot, Jony. It's very nice of you.

    But what should we do about rechargeable battery model? I believe you are already trying to figure out how to do it. Anyway, I'm done with the code and once we resolve that battery problem, then we can focus on the simulation. I'm attaching the latest circuit file. Thank you.

    Regards
    PG

    PS: I was thinking why we can't use bank of capacitors to implement a battery. You can have a look on this circuit. Please note that it's not working but you will get the idea. Thanks.

    PPS: You can have a look on this circuit too.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 12, 2014
  12. steveB

    steveB Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes:
    629
    PG,

    I can't look at your circuit files, but I can respond about your rechargeable battery model. You can use a capacitor to model a battery, if you don't need great accuracy. You should add at least a series resistor to the capacitor. Also, you should limit the range of the capacitor voltage. For example. if you have a capacitor model, you might say that state of charge (SOC) of zero corresponds with 3.0 VDC and SOC=1 corresponds to 4.1 VDC. Then add a series resistor with value that agrees with the voltage drop data of your battery. Use whatever voltages for SOC=1 and SOC=0 that best match the voltage curves. Also, keep in mind that batteries are highly temperature dependent, so your parameters would depend on temperature, if you care about temperature effects.

    You can extend the model by making a voltage dependent voltage source. The capacitor voltage would provide the input to the dependent voltage source, and a capacitor voltage range of 0 to 1 V, would get mapped to the proper battery voltage, via a function. Implementing this is standard circuit simulators may or may not be easy, but it's trivial in a Simulink model.

    I often do battery models in Simulink, and generally make a voltage source with resistance in series. Then the open circuit voltage and source resistance, I allow to be functions of state of charge (SOC) and cell temperature (T). Hence Voc(SOC, T) and R(SOC, T) are the only two elements in the circuit, but the complexity of the battery is included in functions that allow Voc and R to change based on SOC and T. Even this is only approximate and real batteries are notoriously difficult to model accurately under all operating conditions. Typicall Voc(SOC, T) and R(SOC,T) need to be measured under conditions similar to your application in order to have a useful model.

    I could give more details, but I think for a school project a simple model should suffice. Make it a simple as possible. If the straight capacitor with limited voltage range, with a series resistance works for you, that's the best.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page