1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Sharing data between a 5V device and a 3.3V device

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by mik3ca, Aug 12, 2017.

  1. mik3ca

    mik3ca Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    93
    Likes:
    0
    I have a microcontroller and am considering buying a radio module. Every module I find online has a maximum operating voltage of 3.9. My microcontroller runs at 5V.

    I want to be able to exchange data between both devices but I'm afraid if I hook up the pins directly then I'd blow up the radio module since it can't handle 5V.

    I heard about level converters but I'm not sure which IC to buy. I'd rather buy something that's commonly available.

    I also thought of a LDO voltage regulator from 5V to 3.9V to drive VCC of the radio module but I don't know if that's efficient.

    Can someone point me in the right direction? I'm also limited to DIP IC's since I don't work with smd.
     
  2. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,085
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
  3. Externet

    Externet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    792
    Likes:
    19
    Location:
    Mideast U.S.
    Plus a 3.3V regulator to power the 3.3V radio module from the 5V supply the microcontroller uses.

    ╬╝C+5Vpower-------------------------Vreg--------------------------+3.3V radiopower

    ╬╝Cdatalines----------------------LevelshifterIC---------------------radio datalines
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,213
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca

    3.3V logic can drive 5V logic, check 5V part VIL and VIH. Some 3.3V parts can tolerate 5V inputs, check your radio module data sheet. The data sheet should list maximum input. In many cases no level translation is needed.
     
  6. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,829
    Likes:
    1,084
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
  7. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,085
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi Kiss,
    Getting a 'Server not Found" msg on that link.
    E
    Found the problem, you had a miss spell.
    www.proto-advantage.com
     
  8. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    9,935
    Likes:
    310
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    ONLINE
    You can do it discretely as well. See attached compass schematic.

    Mike.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,829
    Likes:
    1,084
  10. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,775
    Likes:
    485
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE

Share This Page