1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Security Check

Discussion in 'Site Issues & Feedback' started by ericgibbs, Jun 26, 2017.

  1. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,220
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    Hi,
    I am getting this warning message from FireFox regarding the ETO site, would admin please clarify the situation.?

    This PC has all the usual Firewall and Malware protection.

    The other Forum sites I use are not showing the warning message.

    As advised by FireFox I prefixed the URL with https:// in order to confirm the problem.

    Eric
    A001.gif

    Note:
    When I type the https:// prefix to the EDA URL I get a 'Cannot Access' message.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2017
  2. shortbus=

    shortbus= Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes:
    77
    Location:
    youngstown, oh
    Is it even from Mozilla? The reason I ask is a few months ago Ebay sometimes would give me a similar notice. Wanting me to click on a link in the notice. I'm not much on computers so I asked one of my sons about the notice. He said it 'could' be some kind of malware and to ignore it. Said if you click on it it takes you to an unknown site that attaches a file and lets them in. So, I never go to anything not from the Mozilla site.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,220
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi sb,
    Thanks for the feedback.
    I have checked all my bookmarked sites which I visit, only ETO and EDA come back as not being secure,
    As you may know EDA is the parent company of ETO.

    In these images you can see a 'padlock' image next ti the 'i-nformation' token, on sites which are protected.
    E

    BTW:
    This all started when I tried to change my password for ETO, I was warned by FF that my password could be read by others.

    A06.gif
     

    Attached Files:

    • A03.gif
      A03.gif
      File size:
      6.3 KB
      Views:
      29
    • A04.gif
      A04.gif
      File size:
      11.2 KB
      Views:
      29
    • A05.gif
      A05.gif
      File size:
      7.9 KB
      Views:
      31
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,080
    Likes:
    326
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia

    I get the line through padlock in Firefox but no warning and I don't get the padlock in Chrome. However, clicking on the little information button in the chrome address bar tells me it isn't secure.

    Mike.
     
  6. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,220
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    Morning Mike,
    On the ETO website, if you prefix the ETO URL address, with https:// do you get any warning messages.?

    Eric
     
  7. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,245
    Likes:
    911
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    The https:/ cant be used for normal sites... If ETO hasn't a security certificate, they cannot be prefixed with the "s" option.

    I think you have your internet security settings too high!
     

Share This Page