Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Router, switches and LAN

Status
Not open for further replies.

navveed

Hi, Back again after such long time.
Well i wanted to connect around 20 computers to a local LAN that would then be connected to the main server and finally to the Internet. I am new to this stuff so dont have any idea as what to do.
Do i use routers or combination of router and switches.
Do I connect the computers wirelessly to the router or if not since most routers have only four ethernet ports than what should i do, if i want to connect the computer via ethernet cable. Please give detail of both options.
If i am using a private address say 10.0.0.0/8, how do i make an addressing scheme for the LAN for each PC.

thanks in advance, any help will be apprciated.

You are better off keeping internet modem and router separate as their technology evolves differently and you might want to change from DSL to cable or back so that is another reason to keep internet modem separate. You should get a simple non-managed 24 port switch. Router should also be wireless capable to provide that capability for your network. 24 port switch and router should be gigabit speed.