Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Rising edge detector

Status
Not open for further replies.

shortbus=

Most Helpful Member
I need a edge detector circuit for clocking a 4013 flip flop. Googled and checked the books I have but many of the circuits shown are slightly different and they often show the same circuit but contradict themselves in the explanation of them. I need one that take a digital level high and out put a short high pulse then return to digital low. I'm new to logic circuits and could use some help with this.

The 4013 already clocks on the rising edge. It clock input can stay high for a week, and then go low just long enough to meet the setup time to catch the next clock edge. Why do you think you need to "shorten" the logic level high time?

A double edge detector is an XOR gate with a short RC delay in one path.

A single edge one shot is just a diode clamped differentiator into gate input or a precision dual one shot chip in HCMOS.

The 4013 already clocks on the rising edge. It clock input can stay high for a week, and then go low just long enough to meet the setup time to catch the next clock edge. Why do you think you need to "shorten" the logic level high time?

Thanks Mike. I didn't know that, like I said in first post I'm new to this. I was under the assumption that a edge detector had to be added, didn't know one was built in to the clock input. Since there are so many shown in the books/online just thought it was some thing needed.