1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

RF module

Discussion in 'Radio and Communications' started by victorgozan, Jun 3, 2016.

  1. victorgozan

    victorgozan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Enugu,Nigeria
    Hi, I have RF module and HT12E and HT12E in my project. I know that I can send 4-bit data from a microcontroller with the 4 data pins of the encoder connected to the microcontroller. The question I have is this, is it possible to send a byte with HT12E encoder and the same received at the other end of the receiver HT12D and microcontroller.
    Thanks in advance for your suggestions.
     
  2. ronsimpson

    ronsimpson Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,254
    Likes:
    961
    Location:
    Loveland, CO USA
    I don't see how. You could sent two (4 bits) but you will need some "smarts" to send and to receive.
     
  3. Kerim

    Kerim Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes:
    6
    Location:
    Aleppo city - Syria
    This may be done by using two pairs if the data is transmitted via infrared (IR) transmission medium (via RF, it is better using 2 different carriers). In this case, each pair should have its own 8-bit address.

    Kerim
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,231
    Likes:
    641
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    ONLINE

    You don't need the HT12's, simply encode what you need in the microcontroller, and feed the RF modules directly.

    HT12's aren't designed to be used with microcontrollers, but as standalone remote controls.
     

Share This Page