Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Relay Driver circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deedee

Hi guys...
I am total newbie at electronics and i am trying to make a relay driver circuit using a 555 timer. The requirements were to generate pulses with 50% duty cycle and time period of 1 minute, 2 minutes, 4 minutes and always ON. I am attaching my circuit diagram... will any of you kind souls tell me if i have made a mistake?
Btw the relay is a 12 V 4PDT relay and has a coil resistance of 100 ohms.
**broken link removed**

I am not sure why you are using Q1 and Q2 to switch in extra capacitors. It had been my experience that large values of capacitors on a normal 555 will not work effectively. That is to say the leakage current get's in the way and they will not charge to the 2/3 value of Vcc. Two ways around this problem are 1. Go to a cmos version so larger values of resistors and smaller values of capacitors can be used. 2. Use faster times with a counter following the the 555 to divide the time.
The other problem if you want 50% duty cycles you need to change the configuration of the 555 as it isnt 50% with the values of the resistors shown.

Thanks for your response!