Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

relay controlled potentiometer..

Status
Not open for further replies.

wireman121

I'm new to the custom circuit design game, but I understand the basics of what I need. Here is my situation:

I have an audio amplifier that takes a 10k pot connection to determine the volume it needs to amplify at. I need to be able to control this 10k pot with a 30v relay output signal (or it can be an IR signal, if I need to go that far.) I was able to find the Maxim MAX5457EEE+ chip which appears to do what I would need. I would need to drive a bunch of relays that will take a 30v input and convert it to a lower voltage that the MAX5457EEE+ will underatand. I would need to design a custom PCB as well. I dont know how to do that. I can solder no problem, but I've never designed my own complete circuit before.... any help with this would be much appreciated. I already have a bunch of MAX5457EEE+ chips, but I dont have any of the other components (nor do I know exactly what else I need to get) but I do have the system that will be sending the 30v signal (1 for volume up and 1 for volume down) I need to control 3 amps, so there will be 6 30v triggers as well as 3 seperate mute triggers for a total of 9 (so I will be using 3 MAX5457EEE+ chips)

Thanks!

Not clear what sort of control you want. Are you trying to get pre-defined volume settings? Why use relays? Transistor switches would be much easier.