1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Relay circuit for AC switching

Discussion in 'AVR' started by rabhishek91, May 5, 2013.

  1. rabhishek91

    rabhishek91 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Karnataka, INDIA
    Hi everyone.
    Below is the relay driver circuit for MCU. It works good for DC voltages (ignition coil). I myself tested it.
    If i use AC voltage as a supply for ignition coil then i am sure the same driver circuit does not work.
    Please help me with the changes which have to be made for AC supply voltages.:confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,255
    Likes:
    1,218
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    :confused: Are you using the relay to switch the DC supply voltage for the ignition coil? If it works well with DC why do you want to drive the coil with AC?
     
  3. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,807
    Likes:
    135
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    You get rid of the diode and Q1 get you a logic level triac and your done.

    Hook the bottom of the relay coil to gnd and feed the coil with the triac. You fire the triac on with the 1k resistor from the mC.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. rabhishek91

    rabhishek91 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Karnataka, INDIA

    Thank you sir. I have modified the circuit and attached below. Is it right ?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,807
    Likes:
    135
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    No that's shorting the triac look at this one
    Triac.png
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. rabhishek91

    rabhishek91 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Karnataka, INDIA
    Sir i am using a ignition coil circuit where i need to control it. Initially i thought of controlling it in below manner.

    But later by trying out in lab i got to know that voltage at input crosses more than 400V due to overload. So i decided to control the circuit by switching AC (before the conversion of AC to DC i.e. before transformer). In this way,the transformer acts as an isolator and protects the relay.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. rabhishek91

    rabhishek91 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Karnataka, INDIA
    Thanks for the correction sir. I'll try it and keep you posted :)
     
  9. Jibby

    Jibby New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Rectify it
     

Share This Page