1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick question on 16F628A

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by bigal_scorpio, Nov 24, 2011.

  1. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Hi Eric,

    I'm using a 40106 inverting buffer, in fact the exact one I use in the old working circuit. Swapped all ICs from old to new to remove chance of bad ones.

    Thats the thing that makes me think board problems/miswiring, but I can't find anything.

    Al
     
  2. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,183
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi Al,
    Do you have a 74LS14, 7414 or 74LS04 , 7404 you could try in place of the 40106.?

    EDIT:
    Are you powering the 40106 from 5V, OK.?
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2012
  3. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Hi Eric,

    I have 74LS04, 74ALS04 and 74HCT04 which is preferred?

    The 40106 is powered by 5v.

    Al
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,183
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE

    hi Al,
    I would go for the 74LS04. [ I guess you didn't use a IC socket]
     
  6. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Eric, with my past record, not using a socket would be suicidal! hehe

    2 mins just trying IC in.

    Al
     
  7. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Hi Eric, still the same I'm affraid.

    Al
     
  8. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,183
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    ok,
    Try this,,, unplug your 74LS04, leave it out, power up, then connect the ULN inputs one at a time [ jumper wire] to 0V, This should switch off that Digit LED in turn

    Try each of the 4 digits in turn,

    If this doesnt work I may have to make a house call..;)
     
  9. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Still stay on Eric! Don't think it can be anything else but the TIPs causing this, but since the colon flashes I just don't see how.

    With the colons common anode from the minutes I just can't see how that is flashing without at least one digit doing the same.

    Well baffled! You will always be welcome for a house call mate. Will tea and bakewell tart do you?

    Al
     
  10. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,183
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi Al,
    That must mean the output of the ULN is close to 0v.! [ you have not connected the common diode pin of the ULN to 0v by any chance.??]

    You have my address if all else fails.

    E.
     
  11. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Hang on, just noticed the colon flashes even when the 40106/7404 is removed! So it can't be the inverter that is making it flash, it must flash by the PIC switching the other 2803.

    Still puzzled though.

    Al
     
  12. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Hi Eric,

    All smiles here! Its working now.

    I found a miniscule trace of copper between the bottom two pins of the 2803! The Gnd and common diode connections.

    Can't believe that caused all that trouble. But boy am I glad its over.

    Sorry to be a pain yet again Eric, I bet I keep you busy just helping me out mate.

    Thanks again Al
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2012
  13. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Hi Eric,

    Just seen this post, mine has moved on to next page with my last post so I hadn't seen this one.

    We both found the cause of the problem at about the same time eh! Difference is you found it without ever seeing the board and did it purely by deduction! All hail Eric the Sherlock Holmes of electronics.

    Anyway I am so glad just to get it going and thankful as usual for all the help.

    Kindest regards Al

    PS Eric, the tea and buns are always here for you mate, in fact sunday dinner if you like anytime. Al
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2012
  14. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Doh! Darlingtons?

    Hi to all,

    I have my circuit built and working now but have one small problem.

    My new display has strings of 3 50-50 leds that draw about 85mA per string (per segment) and my circuit does show the time ok but very flickery and with odd sements partially lighting.

    The flickering is not just the sort you notice out of the corner of your eye it is very apparent and way too much to be used as the clock it was intended to be.

    When I put my original display onto the new circuit to test it then all is well, no flickering or digits partially lighting as on the new display.

    All I can think of that is different in the new circuit is the TIP125 darlingtons that I replaced the original 2N3906s with. Are darlingtons slower than standard transistors?

    I am wondering if I should be using P Channel FETs instead of the darlingtons, does anyone out there have experience of this? I don't want to rejig the circuit only to find no difference.

    Thanks for looking Al
     
  15. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,183
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi Al.
    As its been pointed out the bigger the multiplexed display area the wider the view angle to the eye, so it will 'appear' to flicker more.

    You could try this small change.

    Reduce the 10K's in the TIP bases to 2k2 and increase the 1K's to 4k7, also place a 220pF or a 470pF in parallel with the 4k7's. This will improve the turn off speed of the TIP's
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  16. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Hi Eric,

    I will try those mods and let you know if its any different.

    I don't want you to be dissappointed with the display if you call for that tea and buns mate!

    Al
     
  17. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Hi Eric,

    Tried the resistor changes and the caps, did the resistors first and tried in stages, but no effect on the ghosting.

    I also tried a 20Mh xtal in and apart from the clock being 5 x too fast the flicker is gone.

    Don't know if I will ever get all the good bits working at once? hehe

    Al
     

Share This Page