1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

[Project] Voltage problem on Smoke device , need help

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects Design/Ideas/Reviews' started by zerostar, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. zerostar

    zerostar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Likes:
    0
    Hi,
    i am building a smoke device,

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F3q4GHofWfY

    and getting some trouble on the voltage problem.


    The device separate into 3 part, motor, heater, battery( 4 * 1.2V rechargeable battery) .
    and 3 of them is connected in parallel .


    Here is the problem :

    1. motor do not receive enough to run (after test, it only got 1.9V . And heater got 1.5V )

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Hi,problem had been solved,
    the main reason is wire problem, after changing wire, everything become alright.

    By the way, another is multi meter reading problem,

    When I switch to 200mA, it showed 11.0

    When switching to 20mA, it showed 0.94,

    I am confused on such number...
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2012
  2. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes:
    1,218
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    I'm guessing the connecting wires are dropping too much voltage. Different lengths/thickness of wires will drop different amounts. What gauge wire are you using? How much current do the motor and heater draw?
     
  3. masster

    masster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    you've put a link to a video, but what is the schematics?
    do you want us to guess just looking at the mess on the table?
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2012
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. zerostar

    zerostar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Likes:
    0

    Opps, tell u later after checking.
     
  6. zerostar

    zerostar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Likes:
    0
    Oh...sorry about this, i willmake a diagram later

    But they just connect in parallel normally.
     
  7. zerostar

    zerostar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Likes:
    0
    wire : 1mm to 2mm
    current (motor); 0.0019A
    current (heater): 0.0017A

    let me know if i do anythings wrong
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2012
  8. JimB

    JimB Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes:
    585
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland
    I suspect that there is something wrong with your meter or your measuring technique.

    With a 4.8 volt supply, those currents represent far too little power for a motor or a heater.


    JimB
     
  9. zerostar

    zerostar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Likes:
    0
    I got something wrong.

    Battery output: 4.59V

    Voltage (motor): 3.66V

    Voltage (Heater): 2.95V

    Current: 1.1MA
     
  10. zerostar

    zerostar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Likes:
    0
    But what is the reason of voltage drop,even connected in parallel ? Is it related to wire or the temperature?
     
  11. JimB

    JimB Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes:
    585
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland
    This does not make any sense.
    Can you post a picture of your set-up and how you are making the measurements?

    JimB
     
  12. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes:
    1,218
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Have you set your meter correctly for measuring DC current and DC Volts, with the probes plugged into the correct sockets on the meter (DC Amps usually uses a different socket from DC Volts)?
     
  13. magvi

    magvi New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    SpringField
    posting your original schematic would be a great help
     
  14. zerostar

    zerostar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Likes:
    0
    Hi,problem had been solved,
    the main reason is wire problem, after changing wire, everything become alright.

    By the way, another is multi meter reading problem,

    When I switch to 200mA, it showed 11.0

    When switching to 20mA, it showed 0.94,

    I am confused on such number...
     
  15. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes:
    1,218
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Your meter could be damaged if you tried measuring a current much greater than 20mA on the 20mA range :(
     
  16. zerostar

    zerostar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Likes:
    0
    When I switch to 200mA, it showed 11.0 ,is it mean 11mA?
     
  17. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes:
    1,218
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Yes, 11mA.
     
  18. zerostar

    zerostar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Likes:
    0
    But why switching to 20mA, it showed 0.94,, not 9.4?
     
  19. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes:
    1,218
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    See post #14 :)
     
  20. zerostar

    zerostar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Likes:
    0
    Oh... i see ,thanks a lot!
     

Share This Page