Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Program not working

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cantafford

Hello,

I'm a beginner in assembly language. I have written an .asm code in which I wanted to use a PIC16F876a and a 7 led display to count from 0 to 3.

I have uploaded the code in the '7counter.asm' file along with the ISIS schematic that I've used for simulation.

Everything seems ok to me altough when I simulate it I can only see 1 on the 7 segment display, it does not display any other number.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you!

Attachments

• 7counter.asm
    1.2 KB · Views: 228
  • schematics.png
    schematics.png
    289.5 KB · Views: 255
Look at your Delay1/2/3 loop, you are looping around so fast ( .6 of a second at 4mhz) you will never see the display changing, before it comes to a halt at the End.
(unless its using a very, very slow clock rate, which the HS_OSC implies its not)

Try using a software delay like below, better still see this tutorial which shows how to use those displays by multiplexing.

Code:
        CALL    DELAY4s

MOVLW   0x00
        MOVWF    PORTB        ; Set  port LOW
        GOTO    LOOP    

;  SUBROUTINES

DELAY4s                        ; 4 SECOND DELAY at 4 mhz
        movlw    0x23
        movwf    d1
        movlw    0xB9
        movwf    d2
        movlw    0x09
        movwf    d3
Delay_0
        decfsz    d1, f
        goto    dly1
        decfsz    d2, f
dly1    goto    dly2
        decfsz    d3, f
dly2    goto    Delay_0