1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Problem with LCF meter

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects Design/Ideas/Reviews' started by lynx, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. lynx

    lynx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    221
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    10km perimetrically
    Hi!

    i did the LCF meter from EPE magazine feb/2004 but it's not working!!!
    the only response i can get is when i regulate the contrast but only the
    second line is vissible and it only shows dots! :( voltages to the 16F628 and to to the LCD display look ok 5V.

    any help?
     
  2. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,187
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi,
    That design does work OK, one of our members has made it.:)

    Check that you have pin5 R/W pin connected to 0V.

    Also re-check the wiring to the LCD.
     
  3. mvs sarma

    mvs sarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,512
    Likes:
    76
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India.
    you may rewire it for Phil Rice model of LC meter using a single 16F628A, it is working well. Google for LCmeter2 you get it . for frequency meter you can have another
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. lynx

    lynx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    221
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    10km perimetrically

    problem solved.. thanks! :)
     
  6. mvs sarma

    mvs sarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,512
    Likes:
    76
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India.
    Congratulations,
    You may also publish as to how you managed , to help others I suppose !!!
     
  7. lynx

    lynx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    221
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    10km perimetrically
    it's what Ericgibbs said... :)

    now i got another problem!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    while the L meter looks like it works ok! the capacitance meter it's not!!! it goes crazy showing various indications.

    i don't know what's wrong with it.....
     
  8. lynx

    lynx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    221
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    10km perimetrically
    guys any help?

    the display constantly changes values when i'm measuring capacitors
    there is no steady indication and also not close to the real value of the capacitor.

    But when i turn it to inductor mode it measures fine... an 20uH inductor shows it is 23uH.
     
  9. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,187
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi,
    This link is the other thread for the LCF meter, it may give some ideas.

    http://www.electro-tech-online.com/...with-pic-lcf-meter.38935/?highlight=LCF+meter
     
  10. mvs sarma

    mvs sarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,512
    Likes:
    76
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India.
    please indicated the exact components used by you, there was a suggesion to add 68pF cap
    please search for LCF meter in edaboard.cpom
    also there were some suggestions given long back one such is attached as txt file. please see.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. lynx

    lynx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    221
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    10km perimetrically
    problem solved once again... with a 68pf capacitor! :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2009
  12. lynx

    lynx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    221
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    10km perimetrically
  13. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,187
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
  14. whiz115

    whiz115 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    742
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    DotGR

    looks like the file is not available anymore.. can you tell us what changes you did?
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2009
  15. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,187
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi,
    For some reason its gone.?
    I have found the *.asm so I will reassemble and post.:)
     
  16. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,187
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi,
    This zip file contains the LCFMET790_2 asm and hex files.:)
    [for the 16F628A]
     

    Attached Files:

    • LCF2.zip
      File size:
      10.2 KB
      Views:
      502
  17. lynx

    lynx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    221
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    10km perimetrically
    thanks ericgibbs! :)
     
  18. svkghosh

    svkghosh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes:
    0
    hi ericgibbs:
    I am working on the epe magazine lcf meter project recently using a pic16f628a. I'm not much acquainted with the programs, but I would like to know which pins of the pic are 'hi' and which pins are 'lo' after we turn on the circuit.My previous trials are showing 0v output from the pins 1,6,7,8,9,10,11,13(this means all the data ports and lcd ports are inactive). :confused:
     
  19. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,187
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi,
    Is the LCD display showing any characters when the program is running.?

    If you are trying to measure with a Voltmeter the voltage on the pins of the PIC, you will not get a get a true High/Low reading, because the PIC to LCD pins are switching.

    Give me some more details of the problem, I will try to help.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2012
  20. svkghosh

    svkghosh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes:
    0

    Ok that is why I'm getting fluctuations in the data pin voltages!! The lcd display is not showing any output, I read your previous posts with 16F628 vs 16F628A maybe its the problem with the hex file so I downloaded the files for 16F628A (that I'm using) from your lcm.zip link. I simulated the complete circuit in proteas isis and I am getting a display of "CAPACITOR WAITING TIMING" and while connecting to the capacitor/inductor I'm not getting any value. Can you help me with the program and suggest what can be the possible reason for not having any display? :confused: :(
    View attachment 63765 View attachment 63765 xtal frequency: 3.27MHz
     
  21. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,187
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi,
    The 'cap waiting timing' indicates that the 628A is running OK.

    Check RB6 input pin , you should see a square wave, try it both when in Cap and Ind mode selection.
     

Share This Page