Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Power MOSFET vrs TIP120

Status
Not open for further replies.

halloween_man

Hi,

I want to use a PIC pin to drive 500mA to 1A load.

I see many people recommend a TIP120 (many circuits on web for TIP), and others then say use power MOSFET like IRF540. From what I can see the MOSFET is about 2x the price but 25 cents extra per mosfet is no big deal if mosfets are really that much better.

Being a newbie I have a couple of questions.

1) Why MOSFET instead of TIP120?

2) How would MOSFET get connected to a PIC pin (can someone provide simple circuit please) when compared to a TIP120?

Thank you for your time, it is greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
Hello,

I am sorry if I have asked the same question more than once but I do not see where I asked questions regarding a TIP120 VRS MOSFET.

I just checked the threads where I posted and they are all regarding TIP120 connected to PIC, some conversation regarding ULN2803A, nothing with regards to why some people on this site prefer power MOSFET and others TIP120.

Again, I am sorry if I asked the exact same question twice.

A TIP120 darlington has a max saturation voltage loss of about 1.0V at a current of 0.5A.
It switches slowly.

An IRF3711Z logic-level Mosfet (there are hundreds of better ones) has a max saturation voltage loss of only 0.004V at a current of 0.5A.
It switches quickly.

Hello,