1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Pickit 3 repairable?

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by dr pepper, Jan 25, 2013.

  1. 3v0

    3v0 Coop Build Coordinator Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,404
    Likes:
    227
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA USA
    Whey you find something like this please post it to
    Microchip hints, bug fixes, and work arounds
    also.
     
  2. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,897
    Likes:
    502
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    Good suggestion.

    I was hoping to hear back from dr pepper to clarify his comment:

    And my response:

    The hint was given to me by someone on the Microchip forum, and the anomalous behavior apparently affects only a few chips in his experience. Dr. pepper's comment, as I understand it, implies it should affect many chips.

    So, is it mostly a PK3 phenomenon or a 12F683 issue? I will post to the Hints and Fixes forum a little later when we know more.

    John
     
  3. Little Ghostman

    Little Ghostman Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes:
    426
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    dunno if it's pk3 or certain chips but i have a few xxk22 that dont behave with the pk3 unless i use less than 5v, i found out by accident because i thought the psu i swapped to used 5v but the output is actualy more like 4.7v and sometimes a bit lower. i have also had other problems with the xxk22 chips
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,897
    Likes:
    502
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA

    LG,
    What was the specific device number and error code? Were you using the PK3 to power the target or a separate supply? If you reduced the power setting (assuming you were powering by the PK3), did it fix the problem?

    The error codes seem to be:

    1) Target Device ID (00000000) does not match expected device ID (00000xxx). In my case xxx was 460
    2) Err0035 Failed to get device ID

    #1 is certainly related to the problem; #2 may be related, but I am not sure.

    So far, the affected chips I am aware of that have been reported are:

    12F683
    16F1938
    18F4550 (reported today as an unsolved problem)

    John
     
  6. 3v0

    3v0 Coop Build Coordinator Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,404
    Likes:
    227
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA USA
    I do not know if this will help.

    A while back I had the PK3 connected to a powered USB hub. The power cord to the hub had failed and the hub was being powered by the PC. The PK3 generated over current and errors.
     
  7. Little Ghostman

    Little Ghostman Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes:
    426
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    i will dig out my lab book i was using at the time it will be in there as i write everything down, but i am sure it was from pc powered hub via pk3 i will get the chip numbers
     
  8. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,654
    Likes:
    246
    Location:
    North west UK
    Ok then, I read or heard that the 12f chips had issues with some programmers due to the supply voltage, and I spose I just made an assumption after reading your post jp that the reason why my pk3 didnt output 5v, but 4.8v when you told it to was because of these power supply issues.
    Wasnt really based on hard evidence so I could be well wrong.
     

Share This Page