Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC with USB port - any experience?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andy_123

Just want to ask if someone got any experience with new USB 18F PICs?

I just got some 2550 and 4550 and wondering if anyone already used them and can share some info.

I have some PIC experience and in a past we made quite a few USB devices based on combination of FTDI245BM and 18F PICS.

Using these new USB PIC will significantly simplify my hardware, but will require extra effort to figure out USB firmware on the PIC side.

So any help appriciated.

Thanks

Andy_123 said:
Just want to ask if someone got any experience with new USB 18F PICs?

I just got some 2550 and 4550 and wondering if anyone already used them and can share some info.

I have some PIC experience and in a past we made quite a few USB devices based on combination of FTDI245BM and 18F PICS.

Using these new USB PIC will significantly simplify my hardware, but will require extra effort to figure out USB firmware on the PIC side.

So any help appriciated.

Thanks

They are still extremely new, but presumably application notes are available at MicroChip?, as they are for the 16C745 series. As you are obviously already aware, doing USB is a great deal more complicated than doing the RS232 you've done previously!.