1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Pic prgrammer and software

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by Chippie, Mar 9, 2003.

  1. Chippie

    Chippie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    991
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    Good 'ole England

    Attached Files:

  2. bogdanfirst

    bogdanfirst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
    how about a schematic for the programmer, or some software.
    oops. you already gave the links....
    i wanna ask something about the second prog. it says: "it works with RS-232 levels at only < ±8.6V."
    i am not sure about what that means, and how do i know what voltage i have at my serial port?
     
  3. bogdanfirst

    bogdanfirst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
    o, and another question, do you plug the programmer directly or do you use a cable? what type of cable?
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Chippie

    Chippie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    991
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    Good 'ole England

    I use a standard 9pin m-f lead into my pc's serial port 8)


    Works for me
     
  6. bogdanfirst

    bogdanfirst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
    thanks, but still one question......
    what is the problem with that voltage? it says
    "it works with RS-232 levels at only < ±8.6V."
    what does it mean?
     
  7. Chippie

    Chippie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    991
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    Good 'ole England
    Ahhh.......sorry misunderstood your question......

    The design of the programmer is such that it will work with pc's whose serial ports have signal levels down to approx 8 volts.......the normal RS232 signals are 12v in amplitude under normal circumstances......hence the designs unorthodox approach to deriving the 13v necessary for the MCLR pin on the pic. The pic needs 13v at its MCLR pin to enter the program mode..


    Hope this clarifies your question..... :)
     
  8. bogdanfirst

    bogdanfirst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
    not really......
    how do i know if my port is good or not?
     
  9. Chippie

    Chippie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    991
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    Good 'ole England
    Are you using a laptop or pc ?

    If you measure the voltage levels on the pins you should see around 12v on the RTS pin, pin 7 on a 9 pin D type or pin 4 for the 25 way D type...

    and ........ if you run the programmer software you should see the various pins changing state too......( you dont need a programmer to be connected to try this)
     
  10. bogdanfirst

    bogdanfirst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
    i am using a PC. ill mesure it and see. thanks
     
  11. matasoft

    matasoft New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    If the MCLR pin needs 13v to enter the program mode and the serial port gives down to 8v then how the pic is going to enter the program mode?
     
  12. Chippie

    Chippie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    991
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    Good 'ole England

    The circuit uses the various signals from the com port to derive the necessary voltages......have a look at the website, and the circuit description, for a better idea 8)


    Suffice to say, I've built several of these programmers for others and all work well......... :lol:
     
  13. bogdanfirst

    bogdanfirst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
    ok, another question related to the programmer, i have build the PCB with the serial connector on it. but i want just to connect a cable to the programmer and have a serial connector to it wich will plug in the computer. how are the pins placed on the board. some numbering would be great.
     
  14. Chippie

    Chippie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    991
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    Good 'ole England
    The pin layout on the board is exactly tha same pin out as for the pin out
    of the 9 pin D type.......
     
  15. bogdanfirst

    bogdanfirst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
    ok, another question, the resistor like component on the bottom of the board is actually a zero resistance right? so can i replace it with a piece of wire?
     
  16. Chippie

    Chippie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    991
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    Good 'ole England
    Yes 8)
     
  17. bogdanfirst

    bogdanfirst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
  18. capac

    capac New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    Do you know if this works with the 24x08 series?
     
  19. Chippie

    Chippie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    991
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    Good 'ole England
    most definitley........ 8)


    If you read the test accompanying the programmer there is a list of supported devices, eeprom are among them :lol:
     
  20. barn324

    barn324 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0
    novice question

    Hi,

    I've been reading your thread. Am I to understand that the small programmer which fits in a baby's palm is all that i needed to program a 16fxx chip? This is most amazing, i mean, does it replace the pic starter kit for example? What software do you use with it?
    Thanks
    Barn
     
  21. Pilot

    Pilot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    191
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Barn

    The software link is given in Chippie's first post.
     

Share This Page