1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

pdfs

Discussion in 'Site Issues & Feedback' started by Little Ghostman, Apr 27, 2016.

  1. Little Ghostman

    Little Ghostman Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes:
    426
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    can we upload pfs? I tried and failed
     
  2. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    Works for me. How big is your PDF? There is a size limit, but that's the only restriction anyone should have.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Little Ghostman

    Little Ghostman Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes:
    426
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    about 2meg tops, I dont see any pdfs when I try to attach, they dont show up in the upload file box??
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Little Ghostman

    Little Ghostman Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes:
    426
    Location:
    SCOTLAND

    thats odd they dont show up in the file upload dialog box but i can drag and drop a file?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Little Ghostman

    Little Ghostman Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes:
    426
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    just noticed no files show up!! for any extension and yet I can drag them onto the page and upload if i goto the folder and dont use the upload file dialog?? very odd
     
  7. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    They show up in the dialog box for me. Do you have "All files" selected in the dropdown?

    What browser are you using?
     
  8. Little Ghostman

    Little Ghostman Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes:
    426
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    Yep all files showing and I am using firefux, which is probably the reason its not working!! everytime it updates I get a different problem, why cant they just leave it alone?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    Why indeed....
     
  10. Little Ghostman

    Little Ghostman Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes:
    426
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    Here you go i will show you a screen shot of my folder and a screen shot of what the open file dialog sees of the same folder (dragged and dropped?!)

    hang on I think I got it :D
     
  11. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    Could you expand the "All files" dropdown so we can take a look at the listed file types?
     
  12. Little Ghostman

    Little Ghostman Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes:
    426
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    It closes the box if I try and do a screen shot, but pdf is on there, I was on the wrong folder though, two folders the same on the network one for me and one is the back up on my dads old computer. maybe its because I was trying to pull it from the back up?
     
  13. Little Ghostman

    Little Ghostman Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes:
    426
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    I will try a screen shot from this one and shut the network connection off
     
  14. Little Ghostman

    Little Ghostman Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes:
    426
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    No comes out the same! I cant get the box screen shot of all the file extensions but pdf is in there

    Deleted the screen shot as it shows a couple of passwords, not that many would notice them as file names but i am super careful now lol
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2016
  15. Little Ghostman

    Little Ghostman Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes:
    426
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    Its firefux! I am on IE posting this message and I can see the files ok! bloody firefox
     
  16. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    Hmm, that's very strange. I couldn't begin to tell you what's wrong. It's got to be the browser.
     
  17. Little Ghostman

    Little Ghostman Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes:
    426
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    Its the browser! I can see all the files if I switch to internet explorer, shame as I dont ever use that. I will drag and drop until mozilla sort it!
     
  18. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,255
    Likes:
    1,218
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Works ok for me, using FF on Win10..
    Here's a screenshot
    UploadBox.PNG
     
  19. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,917
    Likes:
    1,098
    I thought we sorted this out before, the allowed extensions ARE case sensitive. Bet a .pdf will work. A .PDF won't.
     
  20. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    I thought we decided that was only the case on linux systems. Windows doesn't generally care about the case of file extensions.
     
  21. Little Ghostman

    Little Ghostman Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes:
    426
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    still dosnt work on mine even with .pdf its ok works with I.E and I expect when my firefox updates yet again it will start to work again. I can also drag and drop files.
     

Share This Page