Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Oscilloscope connected to AC netural

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimg

Hi all, newbie here.

I recently broke down and bought an economical oscilloscope.

I'm working on a DC circuit when the ground is connected directly to the neutral wire of the AC line and was getting some ugly waveforms.

So as a test, I just connected the probe tip and probe ground wire to the neutral AC line and the attached picture shows what I got with probe set on 1x and level at .1 v / grid. It may not be much relative to 120v AC, but its a lot of ripple or noise of whatever relative the the 3V DC supply in my circuit.

The question is, it this normal or is there something wrong with my new scope? I have set the probe compensation dead on. I get this with the probe on 1x or 10, and on both channels.

Attachments

• IMG_0727.jpg
    IMG_0727.jpg
    865.1 KB · Views: 609
I'm a bit confused as to how you're actually connecting it?, but at maximum sensitivity (as it is) you're quite likely to get a few mV of noise.

The scope looks fine!.

if that's channel 1, you have it set on what appears to be 5 mV, not .1. so we are talking 12 mV PP. just noise.