Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Noob: Problem with 900mhz Transmitter and local repeater

Status
Not open for further replies.

CKC123

DISCLOSURE:

I'm a noob when it comes to RF, so please bear with me if I use the wrong words, or describe things incorrectly. My background is 30 years in software, and doing projects with Arduino/Raspberry PI.

Problem:

I volunteer at a local basketball club, and we use wireless shot clocks. some of the locations we use those clocks in, have a big problem with use/reliability.

I purchased an SDR and was able to identify why there is a problem, and I have some ideas on how to fix it, but I've never really done RF related projects so I'm not sure if I'm on the right track..

Details:

The hand-held transmitters are transmitting at 913.75 mhz
There is a "master" / "slave" relationship between the 2 clocks so they keep themselves in sync. (So 2 transmitters, and 2 receivers )
At one location with the SDR & GQRX , I was able to see what appears to be a "repeater" that operates from 907.5 to 923.0 and has some very distinctive patterns in the signals ( each repeating pattern is ~0.5mhz wide)
the manufacturer (who I was able to contact initially but has not really been much help since) said the remotes are channel hopping ( but I've seen no evidence of this in the spectrum of the signal it uses)

My Idea:

Since I have no control over the facility and what's being repeated, I was hoping to find a way to: