1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

NINE.5 amp channel 1&2 not working

Discussion in 'Repairing Electronics' started by mark2119, Dec 6, 2008.

  1. mark2119

    mark2119 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    I have a NINE.5 car amp that is a five channel amp. Channel 1 and 2 are not working at all, the other channels work fine. Where is the best place to start?

    :)
     
  2. kchriste

    kchriste New Member Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,677
    Likes:
    47
    Location:
    Victoria BC, Canada
    Swap the input and outputs of channels 1 & 2 with some other channel and see if the problem follows it.
     
  3. mark2119

    mark2119 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    Thank you for the troubleshooting 101, got to make sure i am sane first!!! LOL. With the amp powered on (relays closed) I get a constant ohms reading on channels 3,4,&5. Channels 1&2 read wide ass open!!! Sounds simple enough, but this board is huge and complex. I am trying first to on-board troubleshoot the paths I can see. I'm also trying to avoid having to flip the board over as there are many soldered connections and heat sinks to deal with. No components are melted or open solder points. Any help on component/group component troubleshooting is appreciated.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. kchriste

    kchriste New Member Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,677
    Likes:
    47
    Location:
    Victoria BC, Canada

    What is the DC voltage (To ground) on the output of the channels that do work? And for channels 1&2?
    Posting a picture of the PCB would also help us help you. One other thing you can do is look up the datasheets for the Audio amp IC's that it uses. They usually supply you with a typical application circuit which may be very similar to what you have.
     
  6. mark2119

    mark2119 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    Here is a pic. The back soldering doesnt look all that great.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. kchriste

    kchriste New Member Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,677
    Likes:
    47
    Location:
    Victoria BC, Canada
    Since you have 4 amplifier circuits, between the 2 relays which are basically carbon copies of one another, you could compare DC voltages between a working and non-working channel. You'd need to put it back on the heatsink for this. But, you could also do a basic in circuit diode check on the power transistors and compare a working to a non-working channel. Are you 100% sure that both relays activate and couple ALL amplifiers to the speakers?
     

Share This Page