1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Nice little component tester kit.

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects Design/Ideas/Reviews' started by Nigel Goodwin, Aug 7, 2014.

  1. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,203
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    Someone brought this kit to my attention a couple of weeks ago, so I ordered one (as it's was crazily cheap - £7.45 :D)

    http://www.banggood.com/DIY-Meter-T...ntent=vera&emst=2NKh40Be80_237878_1013964_129

    It came this morning, so I've put it together and it works great - it uses an ATMega, and not a great deal else really - the test transistor in the picture is a BC107. All the details are in the web link above, scroll down to the reviews for a link to the instructions and circuit.


    20140807_112648[1].jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. Mosaic

    Mosaic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes:
    128
    Location:
    Caribbean
  3. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,203
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    I hadn't even noticed that :D

    I've referred you now, thanks.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Likes:
    246
    Location:
    North west UK

    I have one similar it uses an atmel, really usefull and it tells you gate capacitance on fets.
    The only thing with them is that theres no protection so you have to make sure caps are disharged.
    I use mine when I cant be bothered to look up tranny pinouts.
     
  6. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,203
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    An AVMega is an Atmel AVR processor, and presumably what yours uses? (it lists various ones you can use in the link on the website, with the larger ones having space for more facilities).
     
  7. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Likes:
    246
    Location:
    North west UK
    Yes.
    But I dont mess with atmel, so I dont know much about this one, 'cept it works well.
     
  8. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,203
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    Neither do I :D

    But reading the description of how it works is quite interesting.
     
  9. Mosaic

    Mosaic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes:
    128
    Location:
    Caribbean
    I ordered one for the convenience factor.....
    I have a component analyzer that requires booting a PC and graphing the component, but....that's more for production and QC.
    I like a tool that can quickly eval a component and some specs when prototyping.
    Thanks for finding it Nigel.
     
  10. debe

    debe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    538
    Likes:
    30
    Location:
    South Australia
    Just ordered one today Nigel, thanks for the link.
     
  11. picbits

    picbits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes:
    93
    Location:
    Northants, United Kingdom
    I've had a similar one for a month or so - quite a nice little bit of kit for the price.

    One modification though is to replace the cheap zener reference often found on these with a precision voltage reference. I'll try and find the thread I found on further firmware and hardware modifications from the person who designed it in the first place before the Chinese "adopted" it.
     
  12. picbits

    picbits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes:
    93
    Location:
    Northants, United Kingdom
  13. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,203
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    It's already got one, if you check the link above it has a link in the reviews at the bottom to an article about it, including the schematic and suggestions.
     
  14. picbits

    picbits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes:
    93
    Location:
    Northants, United Kingdom
    Ahh I was lazy and bought the ready built kit (from Banggood as well !) :p
    I stumbled across the above thread that I linked to and spent a couple of days reading through the many pages. How the original designer managed to utilise the functions of the AVR in places was quite ingenious :)
     
  15. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Likes:
    246
    Location:
    North west UK
    I built a cap/inductance meter with a pic16f628, its in a similar plastic box to the comp tester, it too is a really usefull tool, and surprisingly accurate.
    Any serious hobbyist should have these 2 instruments, the same ones that sell the comp test usually sell a cap/choke meter as well.

    PS I've had my comp test 2 years on the same pp3, and its had reasonable use, so standby and run curret must be low.
     
  16. SPDCHK

    SPDCHK Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    446
    Likes:
    17
    Location:
    South Africa
    Thanks for the link Nigel.

    I bought 6 items online at this site all costing me less than one item would cost me in South Africa. Now I just hope I can trust the South African postal service to deliver.
     
  17. debe

    debe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    538
    Likes:
    30
    Location:
    South Australia
    Just finished assembling & gone over board checking placement of parts. On powering up, only get the LED & backlight to work nothing on the screen. Checked the 2 electrolytics, one has 9v & the other 5v. Any sugestions where ive gone wrong. COMP TESTER.1.JPG COMP TESTER.2.JPG COMP TESTER.3.JPG
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,007
    Likes:
    316
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    ONLINE
    Have you adjusted the preset? If the LCD is powered you should at least see squares when the preset is adjusted.

    Mike.
     
  19. debe

    debe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    538
    Likes:
    30
    Location:
    South Australia
    Thanks for that tip, had no idea what that preset was for. Very happy now.[ Bit of a trap that, if the preset is in the mid position the screen is completely blank.] COMP TESTER.4.JPG
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2014
  20. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,007
    Likes:
    316
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    ONLINE
    Good to see that it's now working.

    Have fun.

    Mike.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  21. flat5

    flat5 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    866
    Likes:
    8
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ordered it and other toys last night.
    Not sure it will do what I want but found cutting tools that might work as island cutters!
    Very cheap to try. Ordered 2 6mm & 1 8mm. Less that a Euro for the 3.

    Edit: They are perfect island cutters if you have a GOOD drill press.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2015

Share This Page