Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to PIC'S and programming???

Status
Not open for further replies.

shaneshane1

Hi

Im new to PIC'S and programming, meaning i have no clue at all how this stuff operates :confused:

I want to start of with something really simply and cheap :eek:
eg: getting a LED to flash in a timed sequence .

And for the programming software, i hear that BASIC is the easiest?

If anyone has any suggestions, it would be great to know, Thanks

and i have windows XP Home Edition (Note Book) if that helps at all?

blueroomelectronics said:
Why not try the demo versions of the Oshonsoft PIC simulators. You can flash a virtual LED for free :)

sounds great, i googled Oshonsoft PIC simulators, and found the page, but i dont understand what to do because i know nothing about this subject

shaneshane1 said:
Hi

Im new to PIC'S and programming, meaning i have no clue at all how this stuff operates :confused:

I want to start of with something really simply and cheap :eek:
eg: getting a LED to flash in a timed sequence .

And for the programming software, i hear that BASIC is the easiest?

If anyone has any suggestions, it would be great to know, Thanks

and i have windows XP Home Edition (Note Book) if that helps at all?

Well the simplest and cheapest solution would be the Picaxe 08M chip. It uses Basic programming. You could probably get started for under $20 including Comm cable and LED and power source.