Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to PIC... What should I use?

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Souper man

I am very new to PIC, and I want to start a simple project using the biggest PIC chip (40 Pins to make it look cool). I was wondering what simple to use chip should I use and where I should go for demos? (sorry Nigel, dont rly like your site:p :p :p :p )

Souper man said:
I am very new to PIC, and I want to start a simple project using the biggest PIC chip (40 Pins to make it look cool). I was wondering what simple to use chip should I use and where I should go for demos? (sorry Nigel, dont rly like your site:p :p :p :p )

The classic 40 pin chip is the 16F877, or if you like C there are a number of 40 pin 18F series chips.

Ok, now that I chose my chip (the 16F877, thank you nigel and no hard feelings right?), all i need now is to learn how to program it and what to build. If anybody could point me in the right direction of how to program it (say a website with a tutorial, cept nigels LOL), I would appreciate it very much.

Note: Would I use a 9pin serial port? if so, would it be possible to change it with a USB?

Souper man said:

Well there is probably no cheaper or simpler PIC route to start then the PICAXE series of chips which span from 8 to 40 pin devices. Free PC editor/basic/programmer software, simple 2 resistor seriel PC interface and no hardware burner required...good luck

Lefty

Coolness Aspect: