Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to PCB design-help

Status
Not open for further replies.

grldfischer

Hello All,

I am brand new to PCB design and I came across this forum while browsing. It’s very interesting to meet members here sharing information on PCB designing. I came across few articles on web regarding DFM (Design for Manufacturability) methodology which helps designers incorporate manufacturing knowledge during the initial design process, preventing design errors early in the design process and reducing the need for costly corrections later. Also one of my friends suggested me that we have free DFM software’s offered by few PCB manufacturers which is of great help to PCB designers. Ever heard of DFM methodology? Thanks much!

Also one of my friends suggested me that we have free DFM software’s offered by few PCB manufacturers which is of great help to PCB designers.

Yes they are helpful; yes they are free. But as with everything that is free, there is usually a catch: Most of the time, these programs "lock" you into using that PCB manufacturer's process. You design a board, you can usually only have it fabbed by that company. Furthermore, you learn how to work with that software, and you become "locked" into that software thru learning. If you want to use another board manufacturer, you have to learn their software (if they supply it), or learn another company's software that outputs standard formats.