1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Neeed some help with dual PIR sensor circuit

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects Design/Ideas/Reviews' started by whiteangel, Oct 22, 2013.

  1. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    20,847
    Likes:
    623
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi,
    I have added the relay 12V supply link, also shown an option for switching the 'high' side rather than 'low' side of the lights.

    E
     

    Attached Files:

  2. whiteangel

    whiteangel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes:
    1
    Isn't the coil being energized by the transistor. Why connect the other end to the +12 V?
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2013
  3. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    20,847
    Likes:
    623
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    The relay coil needs current flowing thru the coil to operate.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. RogerSLO

    RogerSLO New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes:
    0

    Hello, guys...

    I was looking for something like this, but only one sensor and one stripe.

    Could one (whiteangel?) be so kind and write the final list of elements and possibly new sheme, if any changes in the final work, please?

    Already have the sensor (HC-SR501) and stripes (5050 SMD RGB)

    Thnx
     
  6. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8,517
    Likes:
    810
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    ONLINE
    Welcome to the Forum... Firstly, hijacking isn't the best way to get help.. However! as whiteangel has never been back since... I'll let it lie...
     
  7. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    20,847
    Likes:
    623
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi Roger,
    The circuit will be basically the same as post #23.
    I will update an post
    E
     
  8. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    20,847
    Likes:
    623
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi Roger,
    Try this circuit, its for one PIR.
    NOTE:
    Set the 's' for sensitivity and 't' for the ON time of the PIR [ marked pots mounted on the PIR PCB]

    Allow about 2 minutes settling time for the PIR after powering up.

    E
     

    Attached Files:

  9. RogerSLO

    RogerSLO New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes:
    0
    Sorry, Ian. I know hijacking is not good. Wont happen anymore.

    Thank you Eric.
    How many watts should resistors be?

    R.
     
  10. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    20,847
    Likes:
    623
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi,
    I would use 0.25W [ or higher if that's what you have]
    E
     
  11. RogerSLO

    RogerSLO New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes:
    0
    Thank you again Eric :)

    Let me try do it now.

    R.
     
  12. RogerSLO

    RogerSLO New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes:
    0
    Hello.

    I noticed that when HC-SR501 goes off, it has a delay to turn on again after 6-7 seconds. (wawing infront of the sensor)

    Is it possible to modify HC-SR501 to switch on immediately when motion is detected (after it goes off at timer)
     
  13. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    20,847
    Likes:
    623
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi R,
    That dead time after an active ON period is called the blockade time, which appears to be fixed.?

    Would repeat triggering of the PIR be acceptable for your application.?
    In other words the PIR output is High/On while movement is being detected.?

    E
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 22, 2017
  14. RogerSLO

    RogerSLO New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes:
    0
    Hi, Eric.

    I guess so.. it is ment to be for led lights in the bathroom. My wife always forget to switch off the lights :)

    I would like to set the blockade time to minimum.
    I tried rotating trimmers, but couldn't get it.

    Thank you,
    R.
     
  15. RogerSLO

    RogerSLO New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes:
    0
    I found it, thnx to you, Eric!

     
  16. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    20,847
    Likes:
    623
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi Roger,
    The blockade' time as the spec describes it, is fixed.
    Thanks for the video showing that modification for the 'blockade' time.

    Pleased to hear its working.
    E
     
  17. RogerSLO

    RogerSLO New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes:
    0
    hi Eric.

    Thnx!

    I was expecting a hack like this.

    Now, when the timer goes off and when the motion is active, the light goes on immediately, ~0.1 sec (before 5-6 sec.)

    The second idea was to put two sensors in parallel with slightly different timer delay.
    That I will probably implement anyway, to cover more area. (There are shower doors, that could block the first sensor)

    R.
     
  18. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    20,847
    Likes:
    623
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi,
    You could add a second sensor by using the original dual PIR circuit, posted earlier.
    Modify the 'blockage' time on the second sensor to suit the app.
    E

    EDIT:
    Note the direction sensitivity.
    A001.gif
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 22, 2017
  19. RogerSLO

    RogerSLO New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes:
    0
    Exactly.

    R.
     
  20. RogerSLO

    RogerSLO New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes:
    0
    Hello Eric.

    Thank you for clarification of direction sensor sensitivity.

    If I want to use 5V input (for other project), what do I need to change in the circuit?
    I already have 5V relay.

    Edit:
    Actually I connected as it is and it is working, but just want to be sure.


    R.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2017 at 4:55 PM
  21. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    20,847
    Likes:
    623
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi Roger,
    That PIR unit will work with a Vsupply of 5v thru 20v.
    It has an board 3.3v regulator, so the output swing is always 0v to +3v
    E
    A001.gif
     

Share This Page