1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Need PIC16F84A Cool Project

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by Agent 009, May 22, 2005.

?

On who do your most project ideas depend on?

  1. Self

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Friend

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Teacher - School

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Online Search (Somebody else's idea revisited)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    I noticed that the circuit is "more" stable: b4, the LEDs of the PIC's board, connected to Port B, were lighting up, b4 I switch on the power to the PIC itself! I would have turned on the power supply, but not the board, but the LED's were ON... Weird... Now, that 'weirdness' is gone: improvement is on the go. But still no characters :cry: :!:
     
  2. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    Another weird behavior: the first row seems to light up b4 the second: it fills out more rapidly!
     
  3. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    I still need, next to the LCD to work, to have a keypad (just 3x3) to act as input... I just need 6 bits, right??
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Jay.slovak

    Jay.slovak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes:
    5

    You are missing resistor on RA4 PIN. This problem brings you sensitivity, eg if you touch it, it may or may not work.

    EDIT: Add a pull up resistor from RA4 to VDD (1-20K will work).
    RA4 is open collector output!
     
  6. Jay.slovak

    Jay.slovak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes:
    5
    Yes, 6 bits for 84, if you had A/D PIC, only one would be enaugh.
     
  7. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    Ok, but it's connected to Enable line of LCD... Do I really need a resistor?
    (I'm adding it anyway...)
     
  8. Jay.slovak

    Jay.slovak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes:
    5
    It is very Important <-notice it's typed in Bold. Open collector output is useless without it as a standard PIN. 8)
     
  9. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    Okok :oops: !...
     
  10. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    I think on the PIC board I'm using there r 10k resistors for portA pins... I don't think another would do much difference...
     
  11. Jay.slovak

    Jay.slovak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes:
    5
    If there are, that's fine. I just don't see them in the scheme you posted... Also keep that in mind for the future, if you design different board without them.
     
  12. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    Ok, 10x for the Tip!... But still blocks :cry: !!! Just Blocks!!! No characters!!!
     
  13. Jay.slovak

    Jay.slovak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes:
    5
    this is an interesting sentance... it tells me that the initialisation is done correctly. Can you check if you didn't swap the RS and RW wires (in HW and in SW also), that might be a prob.
     
  14. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    Just Checking... 10x anyway Jay! That's real-time-interactive help!

    That's y we need a new moderator :wink: 8) ...
     
  15. Jay.slovak

    Jay.slovak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes:
    5
    lol like to hear that...

    Try to post us the photo of your "device" (If you have a camera), one picture has weight of a thousand words...
     
  16. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    Though I was sure that no errors in connections, I swapped the wires: same result...
     
  17. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    2morrow... It's midnight now and I wanna sleep... 10x really Jay, I c ya 2morrow...
     
  18. Jay.slovak

    Jay.slovak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes:
    5
    OK have a nice dreams :lol:
     
  19. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    10x :lol: ...
    I'm awake now :wink: ... I am going to change the way I deal with the PIC: I'm gonna use the PICBASIC, or MicroCode...
     
  20. Jay.slovak

    Jay.slovak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes:
    5
    Nooooo don't do that, you will never fully understand Asembly!
     
  21. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    Euh... My teacher adviced me 2 use it, bc it's easier to get the LCD to work... Anyway, I'm not bad in programming, and I learn fast... So assembly is not much of a prob: I have taken already 2 courses, using assembly (Computer Architecture and Microprocessor Design) and have had exellent performance 8) ...
     

Share This Page