1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Need PIC16F84A Cool Project

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by Agent 009, May 22, 2005.

?

On who do your most project ideas depend on?

  1. Self

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Friend

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Teacher - School

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Online Search (Somebody else's idea revisited)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    But sometimes, during the flashing, I just c a part flashing...
     
  2. Jay.slovak

    Jay.slovak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes:
    5
    Maybe your problem lies in the V0 - Contrast pin of the LCD. Make sure to connect it to trimer (VDD and GND) and the LCD to the central tap of it.
     
  3. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    I have already connected the pin 3 (V0) to the central pin of a variable resistor, the other pin of the variable to GND, and the other one to VCC and consequently to pin 2 of the LCD... Isn't that right :?:
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Jay.slovak

    Jay.slovak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes:
    5

    Yep, and when you turn it, the blocks apppear more or less visible, right?
     
  6. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    Euh, actually, it appear Visible/Not visible... It's very sensitive... But the problem is: I just see a fully fulled screen...
     
  7. Jay.slovak

    Jay.slovak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes:
    5
    Is that LCD brand new or is it a used one? Onece I had a problem with used one, it was damaged and didn't work, and it took me a while to figure it out.
     
  8. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    It's brand new!! I bought it 2 days ago :cry: :cry: !!
    Jay, could u direct me 2 somewhere where i can actually learn how 2 'speak' with it... I don't want ready-made program: I like 2 create my own... But I need to quite understand how it works...
     
  9. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    By the way, I'm using Nigel's code (Gr8 site Nigel :wink: ), but it's for 628... Did u c it, Jay?
     
  10. Jay.slovak

    Jay.slovak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes:
    5
    I wrote my own right from the scrach. Look for Hittachi HD44780 datasheet, it should have enaugh info to make your own program.
     
  11. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    What's with the Hitachi? I'm using a WinStar... They have extremely 'tight' datasheets... Just the pin config and currents and stuff... No further info. I need to know what I do with each pin, not what is each pin...
     
  12. Jay.slovak

    Jay.slovak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes:
    5
    That's why we use Hittachi datasheet instead. All 2*16 line LCDs (most of them) are Hittachi compatible.
     
  13. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,205
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    ONLINE
    The LCD code works fine on any 14 bit PIC, it's certainly fine on PortB of a 16F84, or any full port on a 16 series (14 bit) PIC. In fact, it will probably work on almost any PIC, with only very minor changes.

    As already suggested, the contrast setting is fairly important, two low and you get nothing, too high and you often get solid black charcaters right across the screen. If ALL you get is solid blocks, it usually shows that the LCD isn't being set up - this is what you get if you don't have the PIC plugged in.
     
  14. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    Yeah... But I think the WinStar is also compatible: they have the same configuration put in Nigel's tutorial...
     
  15. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    Nigel, I'm restarting the connections... I hope this works...
     
  16. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    I didn't work :cry: ...
     
  17. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    I have replaced the Port A connections to Port B connections, Nigel... Do u think it should work, even if it's a 84A???
     
  18. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,205
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    ONLINE
    Yes, it should work on any full 8 bit port.
     
  19. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    Nigel, I am trying another setup...
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    I have received a code, but it isn't workin, too!!! :cry: :!: WHY :?:
    I still have these blocks...
     
  21. Agent 009

    Agent 009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon
    I'm sure it's no resistor-contrast problem, because I am tuning a 'precise' 4k potentiometer... As soon as I get any liquid crystal appearing, I get'em as blocks... It's not that I have 2 much contrast or so...
     

Share This Page