1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Need help on how to program blinking light bulb in PLC

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects Design/Ideas/Reviews' started by black_wing_diaz, Oct 3, 2005.

  1. black_wing_diaz

    black_wing_diaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Hi,

    Does anyone know how to program the below PLC ladder diagram to make the light blub blink? (eg. on & off for 1 secs) Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

    • time.jpg
      time.jpg
      File size:
      7.8 KB
      Views:
      6,004
  2. instruite

    instruite New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    India/Japan
    You cant make the Bulb just blink by using relay
    You have to use the timer of the PLC, then use the contact of timers to switch the Bulb load
     
  3. black_wing_diaz

    black_wing_diaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Thanks....but how to draw it in the ladder diagram?
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. instruite

    instruite New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    India/Japan

    http://www.plcs.net/chapters/time16.htm
     
  6. black_wing_diaz

    black_wing_diaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Thanks!!!
     
  7. black_wing_diaz

    black_wing_diaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    I still don't understand.....Can u drawn an example? Thanks
     
  8. instruite

    instruite New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    India/Japan
    Are you not able to understand how the timer works???
    Drawing ecample is there in the site itslef
    http://www.plcs.net/chapters/time16.htm
    check out the second figure they have shown an example
    Where 0001 is an input contact (it can be any digital input or any contact of other relay which enrgizes the timer T000 (same as u energize the relay)
    In second rung there is T000 contact becomes close after the delay of 100 units (can be seconds) from the time the timer was energized which in turns energizes output O500
    Hence you get On delay time
    See this animation
    http://www.plcs.net/chapters/timeran.htm
     
  9. panic mode

    panic mode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes:
    38
    Location:
    mississauga
    note that plcs come with variety of system bits. some of them are clocks
    that can be used just like you did in a original post. those clock bits have
    fixed timing (like 0.1sec, 0.2sec, 0.5sec, 1 sec, etc.). to make custom clock you will need timers. now what is the duty cycle of the clock you want? 50%?

    you could try somethign like this using single timer:

    Code (text):


        Timer                     Timer
    -----|/|-----------------------( )


       Timer  Output           Output
    -----| |----|/|-----+---------( )
                        |
       Timer  Output    |
    -----|/|----| |-----+

     
    Code above will work on any plc, attached examples are for AB and Mitsubishi. note that AB example generates 0.5Hz clock.
    you can change this by entering different value in preset. you can change base as well. i rarely have need for 1 sec. base so i decided to use it in this example
     

    Attached Files:

  10. panic mode

    panic mode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes:
    38
    Location:
    mississauga
    you could also do "twisted" chasing lights :-D
     

    Attached Files:

  11. black_wing_diaz

    black_wing_diaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Hey....thanks panic, u did it again. Also, thanks instruite for providing the useful website.
     
  12. pacunnin

    pacunnin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    Hi, i am also looking to turn on a light bulb once i activate an enable input the buld will light for 2 secs then go off for 2 secs then turn back on and repeat the cycle as long as the enable input is active. any ideas?
     
  13. Reloadron

    Reloadron Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6,777
    Likes:
    281
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    It might be wise to start a fresh thread. This thread dealt with a PLC (Programmable Logic Controller) using ladder logic in the drawings. Do you have the same? What voltage and current is your lamp? How you do what you want to do is a function of what you have.

    Ron
     

Share This Page