Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need a recommendation for a volume control knob please

Status
Not open for further replies.

bradleyheathhays

Complete novice here, and I'm trying to figure out what little volume control knob I need to splice into this wire here...

**broken link removed**

...in order to control the volume of the speaker on this 2 C cell powered alarm device. This is part of a 2 unit warning system where one box is the motion sensor, and the one pictured is the remote alarm. When viewed from the outside of the box (through the protective vents), the speaker appears to be made of copper foil.

I have no clue what to look for even if the part was described to me, so would someone please be kind enough to provide a link for a small volume control knob I could splice in that would be appropriate for this application. Ideally I'd like to drill a small hole and mount it so the knob protrudes through to the outside of the plastic box.

Thanks!

The speaker looks like a standard piezo disc type of sounder. If it is driven by a fixed frequency oscillator then a series rheostat might be a usable volume control. However, if the sounder is the frequency-determining part of a self-resonant oscillator circuit then a series rheostat may simply prevent any oscillation. You could try various fixed resistors first, to see what effect they have. If that works then you will have a basis for choosing a potentiometer (rheostat).