1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Multiple Pickit3s at the same time.

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by Pommie, Jul 27, 2017.

  1. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,153
    Likes:
    339
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    ONLINE
    It seems this works fine with two genuine Pickit3s but not with clones as these all have the same serial number. I have a genuine Pickit3 but a misconnect blew something. So I now have two clones. Does anyone know how to change the serial on these clones? Is it part of the firmware that can be reloaded? I notice on the genuine board a 6 pin connector for programming, also a 5 pin on the clones.

    If anyone is interested, as a work around, I have done the following.
    I run two different versions of MPLAB.X - 3.55 & 3.65.
    I have the two Pickit3 connected to a hub with switches.
    I can now quickly switch between the two projects by pushing two buttons and switching windows.

    When I get time I will see if I can get the source code for the PK3 and see if it contains a serial number and try reprogramming one of my clones.

    Mike.
     
  2. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes:
    144
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    I can't test this but I bet it's how the driver loads the clone and gives the same serial number
    I have to pickits 2 they came up the same
    But I've seen somewhere how to change this in the ipe
     
  3. House0Fwax

    House0Fwax Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Likes:
    17
    Location:
    Hampshire U.K.
    If you mean the 'Device I.D.' it can be changed using the standalone GUI. On the top bar under tools, 'Change device ID'.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. granddad

    granddad Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    762
    Likes:
    76
    Location:
    Worcestershire UK

    I always assumed the BUR serial # was part of the PK3 bootloader , and is fixed / protected. It is fairly hard to kill a PK3 , you could try to reflash the OS using a clone....
     
  6. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes:
    144
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    If you have a real pickit3 the ipe shows new ones but the clone they show up as the same one I looked on linux and they don't show the same as windows I plugged in 3 clones but i don't have 3 of the pickit3. But been playing with usb and I'm sure the driver file needs something changed on windows to make the clones work as you want Mike.
     
  7. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes:
    144
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    I don't no if I'm wasting time but I took a screenshot for you how to name your pickit3 when you have more then one
    pickit3 rename.png
     
  8. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,153
    Likes:
    339
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    ONLINE
    Hi Burt,

    Thanks for trying to help but the only way to get two clones working appears to be that you have to change the serial numbers somehow. Setting a friendly name doesn't help as they both get the same name.

    Mike.
     
  9. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes:
    144
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    I tried this out last night. I still think it's in the driver but I can't find it for the pickit3 on a windows 10 box Ok i found out why it's hid USB driver for Pickit3 is HID (generic driver) Now maybe i find where there setting it to the same serial number.
     

Share This Page