1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Microwave cooker modulation

Discussion in 'Radio and Communications' started by Mosaic, Jul 12, 2017.

  1. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,294
    Likes:
    647
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    That's the power that standard magnetrons provide - as I said I've never heard of higher power ones - possibly yours is quoting the power consumed from the mains, rather than the actual RF output?.

    We're actually 240V in the UK, the 230V rating (for the EU) is for equipment specifications and must cover the UK's 240V and the rest who are 220V.
     
  2. flatfootskier

    flatfootskier Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes:
    5
    I'd bet many ovens have lousy efficiency - magnetron losses can be very significant.
     
  3. MrAl

    MrAl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,042
    Likes:
    959
    Location:
    NJ

    Hi,

    Well the input current is over 15 amps i think it's 16 amps, and 16 times 120 is 1920 watts input power. With 1200 watts cooking power that is about 62.5 percent efficient which is about right. My older oven only drew much less current on high from the wall and that was known to be a lower power unit. When i turn this new oven down to power level 3, it draws around 6 amps from the wall, so i know it has to be lot higher power than the old oven.
    How they do this i dont know, but i never heard of a limit on the power of a magnetron, that they could never design one over 700 watts or something like that. I might note that i read about them being able to get much higher. I dont think they are using two in this oven, but i'd have to take it apart to find out for sure.
    I also did a test when i first got the oven and it boiled 8 oz of water in something like a minute or a minute and a half, which is quite fast. Cant remember the exact time now though.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. flatfootskier

    flatfootskier Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes:
    5

    I've never known a microwave to regulate power other than by adjusting its duty cycle - seconds per burst, rather than bursts per second.
     
  6. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,294
    Likes:
    647
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    I'm certain you can buy magnetrons FAR higher than the standard ones used in ovens, after all they were invented for radar applications.

    As I mentioned previously, all the commercial ovens I've repaired simply used two magnetrons to give double the power though, and didn't use any 'unusual' magnetrons.
     
  7. MrAl

    MrAl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,042
    Likes:
    959
    Location:
    NJ
    Hi,

    Most of them do that, but then Panasonic came out with their line of "inverter ovens" that use a inverter to regulate the power in a way that does not need pulsing. This means the actual power level goes down so the input current geos down too. Not just the average current, but the instantaneous current goes down so it gives a continuous cooking power rather then a pulsing cooking power.
    If you measure the input power to a regular oven it will go from every low to very high, then back to very low, then back to very high, etc., on the lower cooking levels. That way it obtains an average cooking power that is less than full power.
     
  8. davenn

    davenn Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes:
    47
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    good grief, why do you need a dish, is 500 - 600W not enough ??
     
  9. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,294
    Likes:
    647
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    To match the output of the magnetron, the cavity of the oven is designed to give such a match.

    Like any transmitter you can't just use it without an aerial, it will destroy the transmitter - and not work well either.
     
  10. flatfootskier

    flatfootskier Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes:
    5
    I can think of 500-600 reasons why this is a bad idea...
     
  11. davenn

    davenn Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes:
    47
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia

    though, you would be surprised how well a transmitter works straight out the end of a length of tuned waveguide :)

    edit, I have done that on 10 and 24 GHz quite successfully
     
  12. davenn

    davenn Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes:
    47
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    and yet you couldn't even give me one or two reasons

    you DO NOT want to be using that sort of power level or a terrestrial point to point, you will cook ( pun intended) people and other living organisms

    the only real valid reason for that much poser would be for doing amateur radio moon-bounce.
     
  13. throbscottle

    throbscottle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes:
    113
    Location:
    Nuneaton, Warwickshire, UK
    I thought you guys had "bi-phase" mains power, so you could get 240v for electric ovens. Although I suppose running plug in appliance with 2 live wires isn't a good idea...
     
  14. JimB

    JimB Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,356
    Likes:
    586
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland
    ONLINE
  15. flatfootskier

    flatfootskier Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes:
    5
    We do it in the UK though - centre tapped at earth, and yellow...
     
  16. throbscottle

    throbscottle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes:
    113
    Location:
    Nuneaton, Warwickshire, UK
    Huh? You talking about site transformers? CTE... But the difference is it's 55v live, not 115v. A lot less deadly :/
     
  17. GromTag

    GromTag Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Messages:
    307
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    North Carolina
    A moon bounce signal.... Hmmm, lets see here, just watch out for space debris that might bounce the signal somewhere else and turns some ones house into a popcorn bash party. And 2, be sure not to hit those really expensive Geminids, Leonids, or Orionids Sattelites. Might be charged a big bill to replace those gems.... :hilarious:

    The Wifi use, the signal would have to ride the wave at some point during its stable points as most Magnetrons can self resonate unless cranked up in frequency. As far as I know on that.
     

Share This Page