Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Microcontrollers and programming languages

Status
Not open for further replies.

Johnmcfly

Hi everyone !

I am an absolute beginner in the Microcontrollers' world
But I think I will enjoy it. Haha :)

Anyway, I would like to know which programming languages are used in Microcontrollers.
I know there is C, Assembly language... What else ?

Can we program an Arduino Card in Basic ?

Thanks for your answers ! :)

If you are going to program the Arduino in basic, you'll have to loose the bootloader!!!

No you don't. Bootloader is used to upload the compiled .hex file into the microcontroller. No matter what compiler or language you used to create the .hex file.

I thought the Adrduino boot loader was specific to their IDE!

Bootloader is a program in the microcontroller. You need a PC software that can communicate with the bootloader and then you can upload your code to the microcontroller. There are other software available than Arduino IDE that can communicate with the arduino bootloader.

> Can we program an Arduino Card in Basic ?

There is a free BASIC compiler called Firewing

https://www.firewing.info/pmwiki.php?n=Firewing.Download

here is some sample code, so you get an idea of the programming language

https://www.firewing.info/pmwiki.php?n=FirewingUser.SDFileReader
https://www.firewing.info/pmwiki.php?n=FirewingUser.FT800Widget

and you can use a Firewing main board

https://www.firewing.info/pmwiki.php?n=Firewing.MainBoard