Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

micro pic VW golf project.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jay543_uk

Hi all
I'm new to pic's and no alittle about electronics.I do no quite abit about vehicle sensors and signals.

I'v played around with flashing led's and even got a lcd working showing me a/d voltages,now i wanna make a project for a car i work on.

iv got a lcd connected to my 16f876a which iv got displaying the time and date from a ds1302, im planing on doing a a/d convertion on the cars battery through a voltage divider to drop 15v to 5v so i can monitor the battery voltage.

my next part of the project is to display the vehicle speed. the car has a vehicle speed sensor which is a hall effect sensor which when scoped displays a square wave form, im guessing i use a op-amp between the pic and the sensor but how do i get the pic to monitor the input signal and work out the speed.I'm guessing i measure the time between the pulses, but would that work at high speeds because the pulses would be so close.

please let me no what you think of all my ideas as i am new to all this and am just using the internet to work out how to do things.

thanks for any help you can give me

jason

jay543_uk said:
but would that work at high speeds because the pulses would be so close.