1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Measure Mains AC current

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects Design/Ideas/Reviews' started by abicash, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. abicash

    abicash Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Likes:
    3
    That is one of the problems.I have earlier written the code where the ADC value is sampled and that value is compared with a preset value and action taken but now i realise that i was only measuring the peak value and not rms value,which is what i need.So i am writing that.I will try your circuit with a reduced gain soon.I am waiting for the boost converter boards to arrive,so i can get evrything to integrate and try.

    Who or what is DK ?:confused:
    The PIC is having a good function of getting the max value from ADC reads (or so i understand) .My freescale device too has it but then i have to use it in continuos running mode , automatic compare,and value greater than,bits enabled in a register.But i need a window comparator so i think i will figure this out soon.

    Thanks for being supportive guys:)

    Thnaks and regards
     
  2. dknguyen

    dknguyen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes:
    71
    I am DK....
     
  3. abicash

    abicash Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Likes:
    3
    ha!!!! how did i miss that :p:D
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. MrAl

    MrAl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,049
    Likes:
    961
    Location:
    NJ


    Hi again,


    If all you need to do is calculate the rms from the peak all you have
    to do is divide by 1.4142, but many times you dont really need to do
    this because the peak stays in proportion to the rms value anyway,
    so you can make your setpoints based on the peak value rather than
    the rms value.

    Hey i like that "DK" for short because it's easier to spell :)
     
  6. abicash

    abicash Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Likes:
    3
    Hi

    Just to let you know guys...last week i have successfully tested it out..its quite stable for now

    Thanks for the immense help....:D
     
  7. smanches

    smanches New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    986
    Likes:
    8
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Yay!!!!! :D
     

Share This Page