1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

LTspice potentiometer

Discussion in 'Circuit Simulation & PCB Design' started by ronv, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. ronv

    ronv Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4,725
    Likes:
    488
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ. USA
    Can anyone supply me a pot model and instructions to install and run it? I've been using 2 resistors for to long now.
    Thanks
     
  2. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,181
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
  3. ronv

    ronv Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4,725
    Likes:
    488
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ. USA
    Pot

    Hi Eric,

    Yahoo is where I got this one. I think I don't know how to set it up.
    I have a folder named new in both the sub and sym folders. I put the symbol in the new symbol folder as an .asy file and the subcircuit in the new sub file as a .sub file. I then changed the Spice model line to point at the sub file.
    I seem to have a mental block about this. Don't know why.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,181
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK

    hi Ron,
    Look at this asc, dont forget your include's....
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  6. ronv

    ronv Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4,725
    Likes:
    488
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ. USA
    Could I be putting it to far down? I am using like your option b. except my path is lib, sub, new, potentiometer.
    When I try to run your asc. I modify the include directive to new/potentiometer.sub, but no dice. I get unknown subcircuit called.
    Eric, I know this is a pain, but could you share your files and the directories you put them in? Then I should be able to run your schematic and be on exactly the same page. I keep thinking if I could do this once I would finally "get it."
     
  7. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,181
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi Ron,
    This is my zipped up Passive folder, its tucked away in: C:\Program Files\LTC\LTspiceIV\MyWork
     

    Attached Files:

  8. ronv

    ronv Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4,725
    Likes:
    488
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ. USA
    Thanks Eric,
    I put the sym in the main symbol file and the sub in the main sub file and away it went (with includes). Is it possible to step the pot with time? It would be neat for example if you could see the output of an amplifier change as the pot changed.
     
  9. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,181
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi Ron,
    This is one option.

    EDIT:
    Download this free audio program, use the 'Generate' option to create 'chirp' wave files.
    You can change the start/stop freq, amplitude, waveform type and the time period.
    Export the file as a 'wav' file
    Use the LTS 'wave' option to drive the 'chirp' waveforms into your audio amp simulations.


    http://audacity.sourceforge.net/
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 23, 2011
  10. ronv

    ronv Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4,725
    Likes:
    488
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ. USA
    Thanks Eric,
    I'd give you a big green dot if I knew how.
     

Share This Page