1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

LTSpice, Importing Diodes Inc. Spice Models

Discussion in 'Circuit Simulation & PCB Design' started by ACharnley, Oct 24, 2017.

  1. ACharnley

    ACharnley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    223
    Likes:
    1
    The complete file here: https://www.diodes.com/design/tools/spice-models/

    I drop this into the LTC/LTspiceXVII/lib/sub/diodes-inc.lib folder.

    I checked and it looks to have the same format as other files in there.

    Launch LTSpice, Add nmos component, attempt to change to DMC4040SSD

    Nothing (no Diodes Inc devices).

    Help most appreciated!
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. ACharnley

    ACharnley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    223
    Likes:
    1
    In addition there's a standard.mos file, I assume that's just for common/standard fets without pin/layout design?
     
  3. ACharnley

    ACharnley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    223
    Likes:
    1
    Ah, I assume "nmos" isn't correct as it's a subcircuit, but how in earth do you find where the subcircuit is when you go "add component"?

    *NMOS
    .SUBCKT DMC4040SSDQ 10 20 30
    * TERMINALS: D G S
    M1 1 2 3 3 NMOS L = 1E-006 W = 1E-006
    RD 10 1 0.01247
    RS 30 3 0.001
    RG 20 2 1.29
    CGS 2 3 1.225E-009
    EGD 12 0 2 1 1
    VFB 14 0 0
    FFB 2 1 VFB 1
    CGD 13 14 1.7E-009
    R1 13 0 1
    D1 12 13 DLIM
    DDG 15 14 DCGD
    R2 12 15 1
    D2 15 0 DLIM
    DSD 3 10 DSUB
    .MODEL NMOS NMOS LEVEL = 3 VMAX = 5.378E+005 ETA = 0.001 VTO = 1.378
    + TOX = 6E-008 NSUB = 1E+016 KP = 59.42 U0 = 400 KAPPA = 10
    .MODEL DCGD D CJO = 5.583E-010 VJ = 0.6 M = 0.6
    .MODEL DSUB D IS = 1.44E-009 N = 1.222 RS = 0.009951 BV = 47 CJO = 1E-015 VJ = 0.6 M = 0.7823
    .MODEL DLIM D IS = 0.0001
    .ENDS

    *PMOS
    .SUBCKT DMC4040SSDQ 10 20 30
    * TERMINALS: D G S
    M1 1 2 3 3 PMOS L = 1E-006 W = 1E-006
    RD 10 1 0.006043
    RS 30 3 0.001
    RG 20 2 6.43
    CGS 2 3 1.554E-009
    EGD 12 30 2 1 1
    VFB 14 30 0
    FFB 2 1 VFB 1
    CGD 13 14 1.4E-009
    R1 13 30 1
    D1 13 12 DLIM
    DDG 14 15 DCGD
    R2 12 15 1
    D2 30 15 DLIM
    DSD 10 3 DSUB
    .MODEL PMOS PMOS LEVEL = 3 U0 = 400 VMAX = 1E+006 ETA = 4.441E-010
    + TOX = 6E-008 NSUB = 1E+016 KP = 11.66 KAPPA = 9.057 VTO = -1.385
    .MODEL DCGD D CJO = 5.62E-010 VJ = 0.6 M = 0.4221
    .MODEL DSUB D IS = 4.586E-010 N = 1.275 RS = 0.01773 BV = 50 CJO = 2.892E-010 VJ = 0.0947 M = 0.3174
    .MODEL DLIM D IS = 0.0001
    .ENDS
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. ronsimpson

    ronsimpson Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,305
    Likes:
    969
    Location:
    Loveland, CO USA

    file "standard.dio" found at c:\program files\ltc\.......cmp\ (depends on which windows version)
    can be edited in LTC or any text editor.

    I added this to the top line of the file and saved.
    Note what is bold needed to be added by hand.
    Remove any " + ". or keep it all on one line.
    Iave= (amp rating ), Vpk= (voltage max), mfg= name of company, type= silicon/zener/etc
     
  6. ACharnley

    ACharnley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    223
    Likes:
    1
    OK, so what's the point in the subcircuit folder?

    These standard.* files are in LTspice specific format? If it's possible to drop in SPICE files and use them I'd be happier!
     
  7. ronsimpson

    ronsimpson Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,305
    Likes:
    969
    Location:
    Loveland, CO USA
    I don't know how to add a spice sub folder ...... (maybe that is how I created ICs)
    I do know how to add to the "standard" file.
    If I used spice more (looking for a job like that) I would import lists like from "diodes inc" and modify them in an editor/spreadsheet then save them for backup. I really want my standard files to be much longer. (years ago my files were 3x longer)
     
  8. ACharnley

    ACharnley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    223
    Likes:
    1
    Thing is if I do that chances are I'll miss off some of the characteristics and it might come to bite me in the prototype. I've been prototyping before simulation and I must stop! :)

    I figure

    MODEL NMOS NMOS LEVEL = 3 VMAX = 5.378E+005 ETA = 0.001 VTO = 1.378
    + TOX = 6E-008 NSUB = 1E+016 KP = 59.42 U0 = 400 KAPPA = 10

    Is the data I need from the subcircuit, but the ltspice format looks to be quite different:-

    .model IRFP240 VDMOS(Rg=3 Vto=4 Rd=72m Rs=18m Rb=36m Kp=4.9 Lambda=.03 Cgdmax=1.34n Cgdmin=.1n Cgs=1.25n Cjo=1.25n Is=67p ksubthres=.1 mfg=International_Rectifier Vds=200 Ron=180m Qg=70n)
     
  9. ACharnley

    ACharnley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    223
    Likes:
    1
    Sorted!

    It's a long winded video which explains it:-

    Essentially right click on component while holding control, change Prefix to capital X, value to the subcircuit name. Add a spice directive (.OP button) to include the subcircuit file.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page