1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Looking for a decent cheap multimeter - under 50$ [eBay?].

Discussion in 'Buy, Sell and Trade' started by ItsMike, Oct 21, 2011.

  1. ItsMike

    ItsMike New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes:
    3
    Hello everyone.

    I'm looking to buy a new multimeter.
    My budget is 50$ and I know I can't get something really good with that.

    I would want the multimeter to read capacitance, frequency and duty cycle, relative mode.
    Having min/max mode and temperature measurement would be nice too but not really required.

    The budget of 50$ includes shipping to Israel.
    So I rather buy it from eBay or some place where I can see how much the shipping costs straight away.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    I suppose you don't have any Kmart stores over there, do you?

    I got mine for $35 from Kmart, and the price has gone down to between $25 and $30 now. Perfectly decent Craftsman DMM that has served me well for nearly 5 years (and still going strong!) The only sign of wear is a little cracking on the probe cables, and that's just because of how I wrap them around the meter for storage.

    [​IMG]

    If you can find one of these somewhere, it's definitely worth it!
    Good luck!
    Regards,
    Der Strom

    P.S. Just did a search on Ebay and got a few hits. First is this one, that's a slightly simpler version of mine. The other one is this, which is actually a kit. If you ask me, it's probably the best deal--it comes with the same meter I have, and the entire kit costs less than what I got the meter for!

    P.P.S. Looked more at the kit. It says it only ships to the U.S., but you may be able to get a middleman here to ship it to Israel. Just throwing out some ideas here :D
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2011
  3. ItsMike

    ItsMike New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes:
    3
    Here are couple of multimeters I've found, help me choose.

    1. Uni-T UT10A
    I noticed that the input impedance is rated in MW instead of MOhm, did I miss anything or did they fail ? (Also shows that way on manufacturers website).

    2. Dodgy no name brand
    This one is really dodgy.

    3. Vichy/Victor VC99
    This one looks good.

    4. Vichy/Victor VC97
    This one is very similar to VC99 but has a 1pf of resolution for capacitance while VC99 only has 10pf.

    So which one should I get ?
    They are all cheap Chinese meters.
    I'm not going to measure any high voltage so Input protection isn't a big deal and I'm not planning on dropping it (not too much hopefully).
    What's up with this Vichy/Victor company ? why does it have 2 names ?
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2011
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. tytower

    tytower Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    406
    Likes:
    13
    Location:
    Caloundra
    • Like Like x 1
  6. EternityForest

    EternityForest Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes:
    2
    Either of the Vichy/Victor ones look good. Might actually get myself one cause i need a second meter pretty soon.
    what Tytower suggested would be ok. Dealextreme has a fluke china 15B for 74.40 free ship i think.
     
  7. Gobbledok

    Gobbledok Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    452
    Likes:
    34
    Location:
    Toowoomba, Australia
    +1 for the Jaycar multimeters. I have one similar to this one and it has served me well for a couple of years.
     
  8. tunedwolf

    tunedwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes:
    62
    Location:
    UK
    Out of that list, the second one (dodgy one), is the one that I would go for if I was really stuck :)
     
  9. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,912
    Likes:
    1,095
  10. BGAmodz

    BGAmodz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    395
    Likes:
    9
    UNI-T UT71E is a very complete dmm , capacitance is up to 40 mF and frequency up to 400 Mhz , but i don't know if the quality is good ..
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2014
  11. fezder

    fezder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes:
    100
    Location:
    Mikkeli, Finland
    they use ''w'' letter in plase of ohm, that the text is readable with different machines and eliminates possible grammal errors. Any right members? :D
    I have two of those vichy's, they'll do fine, at least i haven't complained. vichy/victor, are same brand, can't be sure, both mimic fluke with their casing.

    Sorry if i'm terrbily wrong, i didn't bother using google for clarifcation purposes :)
     
  12. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,213
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    I think most do it, but it's a pain in the bum if you can't disable it - one of my meters gives instructions on disabling it, but never seems to do so :D
     
  13. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,912
    Likes:
    1,095
    The Fluke 77 (first version) kinda yells at you. Display changes to 4 dots. You still have to turn it off. I never had any issues with it wanting to be off and I wanted it on.
    Now, the Circuit Specialists meter, yes issues,
     
  14. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,213
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    I don't really see the point of auto-switch off that just prompts you to turn it off :D

    The reason for wanting it to remain on, is (for example) if you were using a PC connected meter to monitor a voltage waiting for a fault to occur.

    Incidentally, referring to post #9, I've recently bought a Uni-T meter - a UT60A, which seems quite decent, but I've not managed to get it to talk to my PC yet! :D
     
  15. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,912
    Likes:
    1,095
    [quote Nigel Goodwin]I don't really see the point of auto-switch off that just prompts you to turn it off :D[/quote]

    Reduction in power consumption.

    Currently, I don't own a "peak-hold" meter.
     

Share This Page