Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LM3915 LED VU meter problem - pictures included

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gaichuke

Hello,

I built yesterday LM3915 based LED VU meter, but it doesn't work. Not a single LED light up.

Since I'm a complete beginner with electronics (I learned what a diode is yesterday) there's a fair chance I've done some elementary mistake somewhere. I'll uploaded a picture showing the circuit, part list and an illustration of my breadboard with all the parts in it as they are.

If it's not a too much bother, please look the pic and tell me what's wrong with my assembly. Also if you have patience, tell me why it's wrong, so I could learn something as well.

Thank you in advance!

Attachments

• BB_copy..jpg
    BB_copy..jpg
    191.9 KB · Views: 6,007
Last edited:
It looks like the transistor is backwards.

Pins 10 through 18 are the reverse of what you show. But that shouldn't prevent the circuit from working.

According to the schematic, you must input positive pulses at least 11.4 volts high for the transistor to shut off and let C2 accumulate a charge...which leaks off at a rate of about 10 Hz. It looks to me like you're not making a VU meter. You're counting positive pulses greater than 11.4 volts. Is this your intent?

mneary: I'll check the transistor, thanks for the tip.

bychon: My intent is to have a VU meter for audio signal, I copied the schematic from here:

Sound Level Meter