Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Lithium cell multi pack replacement

Status
Not open for further replies.

dr pepper

Most Helpful Member
First off I'm an industrial electrician and a fairly well experienced electronics enthusiast, so I'm well aware of the risks.

I had a bump on my wifes Ebicycle, the battery ended up skidding down the road, popped one of the cells (tore open rather than shorted & exploded), all others seem ok mechanically.
I can get a similar battery as a replacement, I was wondering how to balance the charge, as the cells in the pack (50 x 18650) will be a different level of charge.
I was thinking maybe something like a 1 ohm power resistor in series for the initial charge.
Is there a 'safe' way to do this.

Carve them all to the same voltage, not through the same resistance. E.g. charge everything to 4.15v

How are the batteries arranged (serial parallel etc). You'll need to get the new cell to the same voltage of the other parallel cells. Check the voltages and use a suitable resistor to balance the parallel bank then the scooter charger should take care of everything else.

Mike.

Agreed, it's matching the new cell voltage (and capacity) to the existing pack & it's parallel cells that are critical.

Once it's in, the normal balance charge system should take care of any final equalisation.
Any lithium pack/charger setup with series cells must have a balance system included somewhere, otherwise things either stop working or go bang.